1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell Dimension 8400 needs new motherboard

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by 46and2, Mar 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 46and2

    46and2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    I have a friend that I'm trying to help out.

    He has a Dell Dimension 8400 computer and the motherboard is dead. The question is, if I get him an exact replacement (same part number) motherboard, will it be plug and play (just move everything from his old motherboard to the new one)?

    He also has all the original installation disks if we happen to need them.

    Thanks in advance.

    - Ray
     
  2. lawson_jl

    lawson_jl

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,056
    If you do get an exact replacement it will be that easy yes. But for the price you could likely get a new mobo/cpu combo for the computer for less money.
     
  3. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,889
    Should not be any issues.

    After installing it, enter the bios and set the clock to the proper date and time, save changes on exit ind continue with booting.

    May be hard to find a known good replacement for that old of a PC.

    Might be time to buy a new PC.

    There is a Dell part number printed on the motherboard, it is a long string, the first 5 are the part number, usually starts with a letter and then 4 numbers, this is what you want to look for, for an exact match when buying.

    .

    .
     
  4. 46and2

    46and2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Awesome! Thanks for the info. He is going to build another PC, but for now (he has no internet or anything) he just wants to get this one back up and running.

    I found a motherboard for $85 shipped for that model, not too shabby :)

    Thanks again guys.
     
  5. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    Have you tested the power supply to verify that the problem is the board?
     
  6. 46and2

    46and2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    No, he had someone else do that. The capacitors on the motherboard are buldging out. It still powers up ok.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/913845

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice