1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell Dimension DSR (Dell System Restore) question.

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by rossmart34, Jul 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rossmart34

    rossmart34 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I have a nasty nasty infection on my pc. I've tried several things to remove it myself and I can see that the forum for HJT logs and malware removal is swamped here...

    So, I'm considering a reformat. My Dell Dimension came with a utility called the DSR--Dell System Restore. It's a hidden partition users can go to to easily set the OS (Windows XP in my case) to it's original "from the factory" state.

    I haven't been saving a lot of my files to disc the way I should have been. And now this infection has disable most of my operating system's peripherals--I can't burn cd/dvd, can't print, I don't even have audio right now. I'm in Safe Mode With Networking because it's the only way I can get onto the net.

    I've read a few good turtorials about using the DSR but, none of them mention whether I can just re-install my snapshot to my main drive (C:) and leave some files I backed up to D: or, if all my disc will be wiped clean--including the files I moved to D: ?

    Does anyone know anything about this? Any input would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    DSR should only wipe the C drive but to be positive you have your data, I'd take the drive out, install in in place of one CD/DVD drive on a working pc, with up to date antivirus, and copy off any files you cherish,
     
  3. rossmart34

    rossmart34 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I'm not very tech savvy...

    My pc was fine up until yesterday. I decided to scan because I am going to install a new graphics card--thought I'd tidy up a bit.

    After scanning in Safe Mode, I rebooted and BAM! my pc was on total lockdown...and I mean big time.

    I've done combo fixes before but this thing has me by the cajones...

    This is my only pc. I mainly use it for video editing... I have several projects I wanted to hurriedly burn to dvd then reformat...no dice--the infection has my: printer, burners, even my audio locked up. I can't even install a new program (To attempt to clean up) or use an online scan because it says I no longer have admin rights to this machine.

    I've been reading and reading about the DSR but a lot of it goes over my head and haven't come acroos anything that says I can just wipe my C drive clean.

    Thanks for the reply. I'm waiting for my brother to call to ask if he's used his before.

    Be cool.
     
  4. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    I;ve used it a couple of times . . it only affected the C: drive. but there is always a chance of drive failure or some other problem that could cause loss of data . .that is why I back up externally.
     
  5. rossmart34

    rossmart34 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    So you have used it then?

    Okay. I tried the Dell Support guys but, if you've ever tried to use Dell support, you know what that's like... You've gotta paint your face and put on a giant red nose before entering that circus.

    My one other option is to save a tiny bit of stuff on Road Runner Safe Storage then hope for the best. I figured with Fire Fox 3 running the No Script, Adblock Plus and Flashblock add ons, alongside my Avast 4.8 Pro and Spybot S&D and Spyware Blaster I'd be safe... I still have absolutely no idea how this occured.

    I'm gonna see what all I can squeeze into Safe Storage--not much I'm sure--then read the tut one last time and try the DSR.

    Wish me luck.
     
  6. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Yeah . . I have used it . . I don't like it too much, because it puts all the Dell HS back on. I much prefer a clean install
     
  7. muppy03

    muppy03 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,880
    Dell HS?? is that 'happy stuff"? ;-)

    Rossmart how about buying and external HD and moving all the files you want to keep onto that. The are not too expensive these days.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/728595

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice