1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell Inspiron 1100 memory

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by magbobo, Nov 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. magbobo

    magbobo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Hi everybody,

    I have an old Dell Inspiron 1100 (Celeron 2.4) with 256MB RAM (two 128MB sticks). A friend of mine gave me a 512MB stick and I happily thought that I finally would be able to upgrade the memory of my old friend. The new memory I got is:

    Kingston ValueRAM 512MB 266MHz DDR Non-ECC CL2.5 200 Pin SODIMM
    (KVR266X64SC25/512)

    However, when I install the new memory the laptop won't start! The LED blinks for 5-10 seconds and then the computer turns off. When I put back my old memory everything works fine again. I've tried it with the new memory alone in both of the empty slots and also together with one of the two 128MB sticks. I've tried all possible combinations but the laptop simply doesn't start whenever the 512MB module is installed. What's going on? I thought this memory was compatible with the Inspiron. Am I wrong?

    Cheers,
    Ma
     
  2. MaD_KiLLeR

    MaD_KiLLeR

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    279
    So u tried it by itself? 512 in the one slot and the other slot was empty?
     
  3. magbobo

    magbobo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Yes, I tried it with 512 in one slot and the other one empty. I also tried with 512 in one slot and 128 in the other. Didn't work :(
     
  4. MaD_KiLLeR

    MaD_KiLLeR

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    279
    hmm, Normally if u have a say 512 and 128 and there different brand they wouldent work at all
    (tried this on my comp once o_O) but i have no idea why i dident work with just the 512 stick in.. guess its up to the pros to answer :)
    maybe your motherboard isent compatible with the new ram...
     
  5. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    There are no Dell systems on Kingston's compatibility list for that part number (KVR266X64SC25/512)

    http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/con...ck=http://www.kingston.com&submit1=Click+Here

    The correct Kingston part number for the Inspiron is KTD-INSP8200/512 from this page:
    http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/con...ll-Inspiron+1100&distributor=0&submit1=Search

    I didn't see any info on what the differences are between the two part numbers, but it doesn't look like it's going to work for you.

    HTH

    Jerry
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/656397

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice