1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell Inspiron 6400 to Dell Inspiron 6400

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sj_more, Jan 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sj_more

    sj_more Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I bought a used computer that is exactly the same as the one I am using now. Do you think it is possible for me to take my old hard drive and just put it into the new computer?

    Dell Inspiron 6400 to Dell Inspiron 6400.

    They are both the same year and have the same numbers on the back. Do you know if there will be a problem taking my old hard drive and sticking it into the other computer.

    I'm changing computers because my current one, has 'on' button troubles, the screens a bit flimsy on its hinges, and the upper right corner isn't connected where it should be.

    I plan on copying all my data off the old hard drive just to keep it safe incase of trouble. Is there any easy why to do this?

    Thanks.

    Sincerely,
    SJ More
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,815
    First Name:
    Frank
    Advise what the 7-character "service tag number" on both stickers on so we can determine if the hardware and software specs are the same.

    Just because they're both a Dell Inspiron 6400 doesn't mean they're clones.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    It may be possible to just transfer the harddrive, but that is if all the other hardware is exactly the same.

    I assume that is what flavallee is checking for, so follow his directions and you will be good to go.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,815
    First Name:
    Frank
    I just researched that model at the Dell site and it has XP drivers for different graphics and audio and and network devices, so it's very possible those 2 laptops may not have the exact same devices.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. sj_more

    sj_more Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    The service tag for one of them is --> F4CKYC1 and the other is --> F1TY8C1

    They aren't exactly the same. Also one is XP Home and the other is XP Professional...I don't know if that makes a difference or not.

    Thanks!
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,815
    First Name:
    Frank
    According to service tag number F4CKYC1, here is the support site that's specific only to that Dell Inspiron 6400 laptop.

    According to service tag number F1TY8C1, here is the support site that's specific only to that Dell Inspiron 6400 laptop.

    Give me a few minutes to review the hardware description and drivers at both sites, then I'll get back to you.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. sj_more

    sj_more Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you but it does say that its a product support for Inspiron 6400/E1505. :)
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,815
    First Name:
    Frank
    Dell Inspiron 6400 (F4CKYC1)

    Intel 82945GM Graphics Controller

    Intel 945GM chipset

    Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Ethernet Controller

    Dell 1390 WLAN MiniCard

    SIGMATEL STAC 92xx C-Major High Definition Audio

    Synaptics Touchpad

    -----------------------------------------------------

    Dell Inspiron 6400 (F1TY8C1)

    Intel 82945GM Graphics Controller

    Intel 945GM chipset

    Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Ethernet Controller

    Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN MiniCard

    SIGMATEL STAC 92xx C-Major High Definition Audio

    Synaptics Touchpad

    -----------------------------------------------------

    These graphics devices:

    ATI Radeon Mobility X1300/X1400

    NVIDIA GeForce Go 7300

    are also listed in the drivers downloads section for F1TY8C1, but I'm inclined to believe that both laptops have the exact same devices.

    F4CKYC1 is a 667 MHz frontside speed model and F1TY8C1 is a 533 MHz frontside bus speed model. These speeds determine which type RAM module to use in it.

    Both laptops use a SATA hard drive.

    Personally, I think you're good to go with making the hard drive swap.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. sj_more

    sj_more Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    So you think that if I switch hard drives, it should more than likely work? :)
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,815
    First Name:
    Frank
    Re-read my last reply. I've been editing and adding to it.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973623

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice