1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell Inspiron M5030 Network Problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by RoloRob, Apr 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RoloRob

    RoloRob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I currently own a Dell Inspiron M5030, and have been having problems with connecting to my internet VERY frequently. Most of the time I just accidentaly hit f2, but this time I made sure the network was turned on, and already tried ipconfig /all. It shows the "network 2" network for hamachi, but not my home network or any other wireless networks. It usually shows atleast 5 other networks from all over the neighborhood. I would greatly appreciate it if anyone could help me with this problem.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Is you wireless adapter in Device Manager under Network Adapters? What, if any, warnings or errors are anywhere in Device Manager?
     
  3. RoloRob

    RoloRob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    My WiFi Adapter (Titled Atheros AR9285 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter) is under Network Adapters.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    But it doesn't appear in the ipconfig /all, and is not working, right?

    Check in Network Connections to see if the wireless connection is there and is not disabled.
     
  5. RoloRob

    RoloRob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    When I CMD'd (lack of a better word) ipconfig /all I found this:

    Ethernet Adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . Disconnected

    Could that have something to do with it?
     
  6. RoloRob

    RoloRob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    What is the DCHP command to enable it? My tunnel adapter's DCHP is disabled.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Not with the wireless. It probably means that no ethernet cable is connected, the cable is defective or the NIC is defective. Are you trying to use an ethernet connection?
     
  8. RoloRob

    RoloRob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I am trying to use a wireless connection. My computer will NOT find any. It has in the past. Something must be turned off but I do not know what. It's not just simply turning it on/off with the f2 button. I've already tried that.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Check in Network Connections to see if the wireless connection is there and is not disabled.
     
  10. RoloRob

    RoloRob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    It's not there.

    I am able to connect to the internet on my emachines, but not the inspiron.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    I do not know what would cause the connection to be missing from Network Connections when the adapter is OK in Device Manager.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1050421