Solved Dell laptop BSOD with error 0xc000014c

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tryshz

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
69
and I cannot go any further - says I have to have boot disc - which I did not have - downloaded the Media Creation Tool from Microsoft as looking up error told me this might work
Downloaded it twice and tried to make it work but no luck.
I did do F2 when I turned it on and changed the boot order to be the USB drive with the Files from Microsoft that I downloaded. Would not work.

So I'm stuck - can't get past the BSOD - any help appreciated! By the way, this is the same laptop that had the battery go bad - and I came here to see if I could use it without the battery - and I have been. Yesterday we had the power go out - and now the BSOD appears.

Thanks

Trish
[email addr. deleted by mod]
 
Last edited by a moderator:

tryshz

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
69
Trying to make more sense of the situation here.
We had a power failure - not sure if it was because of the excessive heat here in NC, but it was sudden and lasted about an hour.
I have a Dell laptop - here is the info:
Dell Inspiron N7110 64 bit Intel i5 core 240GHz 6 GB RAM


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 6038 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000, -1988 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 576 GB (472 GB Free);
Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0YH79Y
Antivirus: Avast Antivirus, Enabled and Updated

I got the info from an earlier post about the battery which had failed.

When I started the laptop I got an immediate BSOD saying:
Your PC needs to be repaired.
The Boot Configuration data for your PC is missing or contains errors
File:\Boot\BCD
Error Code: 0xc000014c

I went to Microsoft's site and downloaded the Media Creation Tool on a USB - I turned on the computer and hit F2 and changed the boot order to USB Storage Device - saved and exited. Put in the USB and turned on the computer again - did not work. Don't know what I am doing wrong.

Hope this makes more sense and someone will have some help or tell me the laptop is fried. Thanks so much for any help! Trish
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
3,949
You don't download the Media Creation Tool on a USB, you download and install the Media Creation Tool onto a computer running Windows and then use it to create a bootable Windows installation USB.
 

tryshz

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
69
Thank you so much, SpywareDr - I didn't know that - and the directions weren't clear - or I just did them wrong. The last one is probably it.
So I have the Media Creation Tool on my PC Desktop - going to go back to Microsoft and re-read the directions.
I'm sure I will be back here soon.
Thanks!!

Trish
 

tryshz

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
69
OK!! After another 'boy, you are stupid' moments - my laptop is back in business!!
I did learn that one can move the selection of the 'boot order' to the top and then it will do it.

The program told me that it could not 'fix' my problem, but I did manage to revert to a previous time that was before the power outage that I know was the cause of the BSOD - and now it is back in business!!

Is there anything else I need to do about this, or am I good to go?
Can't tell you how MUCH I appreciate your help - would not have gotten here without it!

Trish
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,955
Tryshz, I would edit post #1 and remove your Email address or you may get spammed !
 
Last edited:

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,955
There should be an Edit button below the text in post #1, click that then you can remove the Email address.
 

tryshz

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
69
There should be an Edit button below the text in post #1, click that then you can remove the Email address.
The only button is "Report" - the other buttons are only on the last post I made. Ideas?
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,955
I asked one of the Mods and he removed it for you.
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,955
You're welcome. (I now know the EDIT option is only there for 24 hours after a post is made !).
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top