1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell laptop Windows 7 wifi wont connect

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kentuckynet, Jul 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kentuckynet

    kentuckynet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Hello, i know a lot about the dell xps m1330, especially when it runs xp.
    However i dont know much about windows 7.
    I know the wifi in the laptop works, i know the laptop has no issues.
    I know this because i switched my hard drive from my 1330 to this laptop which is also a 1330...connects and works fine.
    Wifi IS turned on
    In device manager the driver is ok no exclamation marks anywhere

    When i try and connect with the ethernet i get identifying no network access, then it says currently connected to unidentified network, no network access! You cannot browse.

    So that being said it must be in the setting with windows 7.
    I uninstalled and reinstalled the wifi driver it did not make any difference.
    I also tried using a ethernet connection and it would not connect either.
    When i use the win 7 trubleshooter it states a network cable is not properly plugged in or may be broken.

    Remeber this laptop functions fine with my hard drive in it with windows xp.

    Should i out the windows 7 disc back in...is there a repair function??


    Thanks if you can help
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,934
    moved to networking forum

    and thats for the ethernet cable connection - because you talk about wifi

    so with windows 7
    lets see a device manager screen shot and ipconfig /all

    What firewall or security suite do you currently have on the PC - or ever had in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG etc

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    windows key and pause Key should open to allow device manager to be seen,
    on a laptop you may need to use windows key + FN key + Pause Key

    if this does not work then

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb
    In the Start Search box type
    device manager and then press enter

    -------------------

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager


    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Or if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in
    Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. kentuckynet

    kentuckynet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    It had kapersky anti virus, it was a paid subscription, i have since removed it.
    No firewall no anti virus

    Ill get the rest of the info

    Thank you
     
  4. kentuckynet

    kentuckynet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Wesley-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-80-9B-D4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-E0-36-45-DB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{9A80BD20-DB83-4DA2-8C25-181659C09E0C}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{45D419D5-C01E-4257-8B8E-E6604B2A2178}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,934
    can we see the device manager screen shot

    also use the kapersky removal tool

    and try a tcp/ip stack repair

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Kaspersky Removal Tool
    A link to Kaspersky - this varies with different versions
    http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=208279463
    http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=193239279

    --------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the message
    Access is Denied

    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. kentuckynet

    kentuckynet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    [​IMG]



    Thanks, as i had stated i had removed the kaoersky program, however i did download the correct link and it told me it could not continue because a file was missing, i would assume all files were missing as i had already uninstalled it.
    I tried the directions you gave for the ip stack thing and when i right click the cmd prompt there is no option to run as administrator, tried typing it in as user and you know the results already.

    Here is the screen shot of the device manager
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,934
    you need to update those yellow !

    How to identify hardware in Device Manager

    right click on the device with a yellow!

    from the menu choose
    properties
    Click on the Details Tab
    Under the Property - drop down
    Select hardware ids
    Right click and select all
    Then right click again and select copy
    Copy and paste that information here

    You should see a code similar to this

    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

    The portion of the code highlighted in RED is the Vendor ID and the portion highlighted in GREEN is the Device ID. In this example:

    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

    Vendor ID = 8086
    Device ID = 008A

    The Hardware ID's. VEN & DEV. Look them up here.
    http://www.pcidatabase.com/

    and data base tells us that the device
    Vendor is Intel Corporation
    Device is Intel Centrino Wireless-N1030


    Another example

    PCI\VEN_10EC&DEV_8168&SUBSYS_15B110CF&REV_06


    Vendor ID = 10EC
    Device ID = 8186

    The Hardware ID's. VEN & DEV. Look them up here.
    http://www.pcidatabase.com/

    and data base tells us that the device
    Vendor is Realtek Semiconductor Corp
    Device is is not found in the data base so we need to do a google search


    How to find drivers
    http://www.driveridentifier.com/
    http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f19/how-to-find-drivers-419050.html
     
  8. kentuckynet

    kentuckynet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    here you go


    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]


    thanks again for trying to help me!
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,934
  10. kentuckynet

    kentuckynet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    I figured it was the bluetooth which has nothing to do with my problem but maybe im wrong?

    service tag 64YJ5F1 EXPRESS 13360559149

    thank you again for trying to help me
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,934
    it may not be part of the issue - buts its good practice to get all the drivers loaded - just in case and bluetooth and wireless can work together sharing on/off switches etc

    so is it all installed and clean device manager now ?
     
  12. kentuckynet

    kentuckynet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    I have no way of knowing for sure what that is...i was only guessing. Couldnt find anyhting on dells site to download.

    Any ideas on how to get it online?

    thanks
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,934
  14. kentuckynet

    kentuckynet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    already loaded that one yesterday
     
  15. kentuckynet

    kentuckynet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    when i do this only the netsh winsock reset catalog
    works? the other two dont work

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1061910