1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell Latitude D630

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Shickman1, Oct 3, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Shickman1

    Shickman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    My laptop connected perfectly months ago to my home wireless network. Then my son borrowed it to game on and changed settings to connect to his pc as a monitor or something. When he gave it back, i can click and see my home wireless listed, however, when I click connect it will not connect. The only way I can connect is by connecting an ethernet. I am disabled so sitting on the floor is getting hard. Can anyone help me get back to wireless again?
    Yes, the wireless switch is slid on, on the side.
    Yes, i have rebooted.
    I have tried to restore to a previous point, however it only shows 2 recent dates....
    Thanks for your help in advance.
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,513
    First Name:
    David
    First you need to contact that son of yours and give him a bit of your mind after he tells you what he changed.
    He should come back and undo those changes.

    Can you see the network name being listed in the wireless drop down?
    Or any network in the drop down listing?
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we also see a ipconfig /all - incase the changes have been to the wireless IP address and used a fixed IP

    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​
    Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)[/indent]

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    Now type CMD
    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​


    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,377
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Dell Latitude D630 laptop is several years old and supports Windows XP 32-bit and Windows Vista 32-bit.
    Which Windows version is yours running?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    Go into the Device Manager and expand the Network Adapters heading.
    What's the exact description of the wireless device listed there?
    Double-click it to open its properties window.
    Does it show it as working properly?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    Have you advised your son of the wireless issue and attempted to have him fix it?
    We have no way of knowing what he did to that laptop, so it make be difficult for us to resolve the wireless issue.
    Wayne(etaf) has jumped in and is one of the networking experts here, so you're in good hands.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Shickman1

    Shickman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    @DaveA ..LMBO!! Yup, already got on my son...he showed me and tried to fix it and it still won't work..I think he has messed it up even more trying to fix it.
    Yes, my home wireless network is listed, but nothing happens when I click connect...
     
  6. Shickman1

    Shickman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    My son said he was doing ICS ? Working on getting info posted in just a few minutes. Thanks everyone.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes i suspected that - hence the request for the ipconfig /all
    which will have shown ICS
    and you can remove ICS or Bridge mode

    what windows version ?
     
  8. Shickman1

    Shickman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Thank you, i have replied with a photo...
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Shickman1

    Shickman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    In Device manager, under network adapters it shows...
    1394 Net adapter
    Broadcom Netxtreme 57xxgigabit controller
    Intel(R) PRO/wireless 3945ABG Network connection
    All working properly
    ...................................
    Running Microsoft Windows XP Professional
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    was that with the /all at the end ?

    i can nolonger find any of the websites that showed how to disable ICS
    But the ipconfig - you posted show its still on
    IP Routing enabled ... YES

    from memory
    > Start.
    > Control Panel
    > Network Connections
    > Wireless connections - > right-click >Properties.
    > Advanced tab >checkbox for ICS or Allow other network users to connect through this computer's Internet connection
    Uncheck
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2015
  11. Shickman1

    Shickman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    There is no check in that box ...
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what about on the ethernet network connection LAN
     
  13. Shickman1

    Shickman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    I redid the ipconfig... Photo attached
     

    Attached Files:

  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Well, the ICS is off now
    so something has changed

    lets try a tcp/ip reset

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it p/color], which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  15. Shickman1

    Shickman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    I completed the tcp/ip reset and restarted the laptop. When it came back on to the desktop, there was nothing that came up in the command prompt box to copy.. I did notice that the wireless signal is now green, which it would not do before and here is a photo of what I see now...
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1157150

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice