1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell Optiplex 320 upgrade to Windows 10?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tonyacardo, Sep 24, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tonyacardo

    tonyacardo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    I have a Dell Optiplex 320 with 1 GB of ran (expandable to 4). It is a Dou Core so it uses one of these 2 chips:

    Intel® Pentium® D 800MHz FSB Socket T with Dual Core technology XD, EM64T, 2x2MB L2 cache, and EIST (900 series)
    Intel® Pentium® D 800MHz FSB Socket T with Dual Core technology XD, EM64T, 2x1MB L2 cache (800 series)​

    Will it run Windows 10. Does it support these:

    • PAE gives 32-bit processors the ability to use more than 4 GB of physical memory on capable versions of Windows, and is a prerequisite for NX.
    • NX helps your processor guard the PC from attacks by malicious software.
    • SSE2 is a standard instruction set on processors that is increasingly used by third-party apps and drivers.
    If it would support those functions, with only 1 GB would it be too slow?

    I got my Dell Specs from here
    http://www.dell.com/downloads/global/products/optix/en/opti_320techspecs.pdf
     
  2. OverTallman

    OverTallman

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    421
    First Name:
    Jacky
    Theoretically it should, the ATi Xpress 1100 chipset should work in Win 10 despite no official driver support. I've upgraded a few machines with Xpress 200M, Xpress 1150 and they generally worked. Installing the integrated graphics driver may be a bit complicated though.

    Be aware Smithfield (Pentium D 8xx) lack a few required instructions for Win 8.1/10 64-bit so they can only run Win 8.1/10 32-bit. Presler (Pentium D 9xx) can run 64-bit Win 10 just fine. Whether it'll perform well is another question. Still, when even a pathetic single core Pineview (Atom D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx) can run Win 10 acceptably... Pentium D isn't so bad compared to that.

    But... why limit yourself to a space heater when you can go for a much cooler Core 2 Duo?
    1. http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/desktop/f/3514/t/19664764
    2. http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/desktop/f/3514/t/19403475
    3. http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/desktop/f/3514/t/19332157
    Many people have fitted Conroe or Allendale (65nm Core 2 Duo) into their 320 with success (of course with BIOS updated). Wolfdale (45nm Core 2 Duo) don't work. You should look for these:
    • Celeron E1xxx
    • Pentium Dual-Core E2xxx (except E2210)
    • Core 2 Duo E4xxx
    • Core 2 Duo E6xx0 (only 1066MHz FSB, also don't mix up with Pentium E6xxx which also uses 1066MHz FSB)
    And for the memory, 1GB is just unacceptable, bump it up to at least 2GB, preferably 4GB which is the max it supports.
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  3. Grrimm

    Grrimm

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    2GB should be fine, I know someone running windows 10 on the same model
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,247
    No one can give you a definitive answer; there is no support for win10 on the support page at dell. In fact, the only supported operating systems are vista and xp; not even win7 is supported.
    When you use an unsupported operating system, you are in effect a beta tester. Might work just fine and it might not work fine. The only way you are going to find out is to install win10 and see.
    FWIW I have win10 running on an old asus 790fx chipset motherboard [no win10 support] and it works fine however you may have a different outcome.
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,623
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the "service tag" number and "express service code" number on your Dell OptiPlex 320?

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  6. tonyacardo

    tonyacardo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    I don't see them. All I could find was a serial number and then the Windows XP tag.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,623
    First Name:
    Frank
    The 7-character service tag/serial should be the same number.
    What is it?

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. texasbullet

    texasbullet

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2,368
    First Name:
    Ramon
    I am running windows 10 on a Dell XPS 600 duo core and sometimes it crashes a lot. If you are not using it for at least 30 minutes, nothing will respond at all. If you install any updates it will make it to crash even more. You will need to install the graphics card driver if available.
    I would just recommend you to use Windows 7 because it might run a little much better.
     
  9. simian

    simian Account Closed

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Messages:
    150
    Take this into consideration, Windows 10 past 1607 will stop supporting old silicone (aka CPU's/Chipsets)

    So you likely stuck with 1607 anniversary version, which has extended support until 2023.
    The Windows 7 sp1 in contrast has extended support until 2020.

    You may as well go Linux side, with some Ubuntu flavour, something to consider perhaps.

    But please, not Linux Mint unless you dont value your security. Linux Mint philosophies are IMO unsuitable for machines that are internet facing or have a connection to the internet. Use at own peril.

    Avoid 32-bit OS and PAE grab a few cheap ramchips even if you get 4GB ram only.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2017
  10. texasbullet

    texasbullet

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2,368
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Forgot to mention it... You will be able to install the 32 bit version of Windows 10. I cannot install the 64 bit version (anniversary update) into my old computer. If you can install the 64 bit version, then you got lucky.
     
  11. tonyacardo

    tonyacardo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    They now want me to work on a Dell 660. It has the RAM for it and is an i3 Dou Core. So I don't have to worry about that anymore.

    Thank you for all your help.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1196891

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice