1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell OptiPlex GX110 "F1 to retry, F2 to Enter Setup" after new BIOS battery install.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JonathanAnon, Oct 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JonathanAnon

    JonathanAnon Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    I have a Dell OptiPlex GX110 that produces the message "F1 to retry, F2 to Enter Setup" every few boots intermittently. I looked up a few websites and they said that the BIOS battery may have died.

    I replaced the battery CR2032 with a new battery and thought that all was going well until on about the tenth boot (a cold boot), the dreaded "F1 to retry, F2 to Enter Setup" message came up again.

    I've ruled out the battery so what am I looked at replacing the BIOS chip or the board or what. I only have BIOS version A05, will upgrading to A09 help - I dont see how it should.
    There have been no hardware changes at all by the way.

    thanks,
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    Now that the battery has been replaced you need to enter the Setup and configure the settings. If nothing else you need to set the date and time.
     
  3. JonathanAnon

    JonathanAnon Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Sorry, you're right straight after I put in the new battery I set the time and date. I booted it and rebooted it about twenty times (both from warm and cold boots), It gave me the "F1 to retry, F2 to Enter Setup" error after about the twenty first boot. I waited a while CTRL-ALT-DEL and it went booted properly the next time.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    If it comes happening then its the motherboard, unless the new battery had been sitting a long time on a shelf and is weak. If its the motherboard you'll pretty much want to replace the computer.
     
  5. JonathanAnon

    JonathanAnon Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    That's pretty much what I was thinking, Triple - I bought the new battery a few hours before I put it in, so I'm assuming that it's good. I've got two other similar Optiplex's that are sitting on the shelf, might just swap the HD into one of them with the new battery and see if I still have issues. thanks guys.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/512979

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice