Dell OptiPlex GX110 Project.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

WebGuy16

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
8
Hey
I recently came into possesion of a PIII Dell optiplex gx110 that was given to me by a friend. However the reason that he gave it to me is because "it's broken"... I would like to try and fix it so i can use it as a test server. When i plug the dell up, i get no picture on the monitor, i also get 2 high pitched beeps and the hdd access light stays on the entire time. I went to Bios Central{.com} but couldnt find the one that fit... I was guessing it was the video card but wanted to know if this is a valid guess before i went out and bought one. Also i was wondering if anyone knew of or has a video card that i could buy, im talking any (pci only) video card that will work (even if its like 4mb). I am grateful in advance. Thank you.

Ps. I have never seen this turned on and do not know the exact specs of it except that it is a pIII.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
Are you sure this person was a "friend" :rolleyes:

I Googled: Beep Codes

to find for you:

http://www.pchell.com/hardware/beepcodes.shtml

Check this out for the type of BIOS you have...look at the name on the BIOS Chip.

And if you need a cheap Video card....just go buy one. The postage to send one to you would be more than the cost of a cheap PCI card!!!
 

WebGuy16

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
8
winbob said:
Are you sure this person was a "friend" :rolleyes:

I Googled: Beep Codes

to find for you:

http://www.pchell.com/hardware/beepcodes.shtml

Check this out for the type of BIOS you have...look at the name on the BIOS Chip.

And if you need a cheap Video card....just go buy one. The postage to send one to you would be more than the cost of a cheap PCI card!!!
Thanks for you quick response! I already tried googe'ing the codes but still couldnt find them, that link has no dell related codes. I would also like to thank you for your suggestion and tip about the video card, but where as i live in a very very small town i will need to order one because i can not just go buy one. (Do you think it sounds like the vid card is bad or is that just a place to start? And if the hdd is bad the bios would still come up right?)
Thanks again!
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
3,992
You might try booting up with only the floppy drive connected (no Hard drive or cdrom) And see if you can get any kind of display on the monitor.
 

WebGuy16

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
8
Lurker1 said:
You might try booting up with only the floppy drive connected (no Hard drive or cdrom) And see if you can get any kind of display on the monitor.
I have, i dont get any display at all. I was expecting to get the bios saying that everything was missing, but nothing, which is why i think its the vid card.
Thanks Though...
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
To get something on the monitor you must have the following and they must be working properly: CPU, RAM, Motherbaord, Video, Powersupply. Everything else is optional and not required for the computer to POST. If the memory is missing or faulty you will not get anything on the screen, same goes for the CPU, motherboard, and power supply.
 
Joined
May 23, 2003
Messages
164
i might have missed something but if you think the vid card is bad why not take it out and use the motherboards onboard video to see if it will boot.

unless you already tried that...in which case disregard! :)
 

WebGuy16

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
8
Cell said:
i might have missed something but if you think the vid card is bad why not take it out and use the motherboards onboard video to see if it will boot.

unless you already tried that...in which case disregard! :)
Im sorry, thats my own stupidity, there is no vid card just the onboard vid. My fault. But i took it to one of my friends computer places, they said they would check it all over for free and let me know whats going on with it.... I figured this would be easier then buying a vid card in case thats not the problem! Thanks for all of your help. I will however let you know what they say, unless im not suppose to?
Thanks again
 
Joined
May 24, 2001
Messages
1,824
Is this what you have? Product/Model/Rev Dell OptiPlex GX110 500MHz/Rev. A03
CD-ROM Drive Toshiba XM-1902B; IDE; Spin Rate 24x
CPU Intel Pentium(r) III; 500 MHz
Hard Disk Drive Western Digital AC28400; 8.44 GB; Enhanced ATA/IDE
Host Bus Adapter Intel Integrated ICH 82801AA Ultra ATA/66 EIDE
Video Adapter Integrated Intel 810E chipset; 4 MB; SVGA
BIOS A03
Bus Type 2 PCI
Computer Type DeskTop
Floppy Type 1.44 MB
Mother Board Revision A00
RAM 96 MB
System Test Kit Version K
 
Joined
May 23, 2003
Messages
164
no by all means let us know (unless the rules wont let us...but i dont think they would mind) that way if it happens again to someone else we will be better prepared! ;)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top