1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell: Plugged in, not charging

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by LukaRad27, Jul 11, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LukaRad27

LukaRad27 Thread Starter

Hi there, I have had my Dell for one year now with no problems, but all of a sudden it is not charging. It started on and off saying plugged in, not charging and now it says that permanently. This laptop is very important and as a college student I really can't afford it to be serviced. I tried a lot of the online suggestions and nothing worked. Thank you in advance!

2. cwwozniak

cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Chuck
    Hi LukaRad27, and welcome to TSG.

Unless you tell us all of the things you have tried nobody here, unless they have clairvoyant powers, will know what other things they can suggest to solve your problem.

Your symptoms sound like your Dell laptop is not able to communicate with your charger to authenticate it as being a genuine Dell charger.

3. LukaRad27

LukaRad27 Thread Starter

Hi yes, I apologize for not being explicit enough. I have tried restarting my computer, shutting it down and plugging it out. I removed the battery and held the power key to remove residual power. I tried to clean the inside of the plug. I got the laptop with the plug and have used it for a year. Problems only started in the past 24 hours. The battery is also in excellent condition based on my BIOS.

Thank you!

4. cwwozniak

cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Chuck
    I did a bit of online research on this a short while ago when a coworker's personal Dell laptop was giving the same charger connected but not charging warning.