1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell Vostro 1700 won't connect to internet anymore

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lottie1987, Oct 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lottie1987

    lottie1987 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Hi, I have a Dell Vostro 1700 and like I said it will not connect to the internet anymore even using the ethernet port. It used to connect just fine but when Vista update Service pack 1 tried to install it stopped half way and says it could not complete the updates and the internet will not work. The wireless icon is still displayed on my desktop but no networks are detected when I try to connect and 5 or 6 used to show up before. I have tried re-installing the drivers and this hasn't helped either so I am at a bit of a loss really, any help would be much appreciated! oh I have also run virus scans too and nothing has come up!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.



    Connect the cable and post the following information.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,558
    Try ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You snooze, you lose Terry. :p:p
     
  5. lottie1987

    lottie1987 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    just copying it across, thanks so much for your help!
     
  6. lottie1987

    lottie1987 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
    nection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3C-17-0C-BD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : mfg.ie.dell.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controlle
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-09-C5-79-74
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a2:94ff:5a1:8f8a%9(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.143.138(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 163.244.4.254
    163.244.76.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.mfg.ie.dell.com
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.lan
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\test>
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Something has become corrupted in the stack.

    Please do this: Start, Run, SFC /SCANNOW
     
  8. lottie1987

    lottie1987 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    This is what it said when I ran the scan. When I hover over my internet connection logo it says the dependency service or group failed to start, I am at a total loss!!


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Windows\system32>sfc /scannow
    Beginning system scan. This process will take some time.
    Beginning verification phase of system scan.
    Verification 100% complete.Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but w
    as unable to fix some of them.
    Details are included in the CBS.Log windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For example
    C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    What does the log say?
     
  10. lottie1987

    lottie1987 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log There is no CBS.log file where there should be one and any other file I try to open in the CBS file tells me I'm not authorised to see it and there is no way for me to open it as an admin, odd.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
  12. lottie1987

    lottie1987 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    It just says that it cannt open the file
     
  13. lottie1987

    lottie1987 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    ok, found it! silly me but the file is too large (the files combined are like 80MB) and system cannot upload a file that large so can I e-mail it to you?
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I don't think I want an 80mb file emailed to me! :eek:

    If that much is coming out of SFC, I have a feeling that you have significant issues. My feeling is that a fresh install is going to end up being required here.

    What started this whole problem?
     
  15. lottie1987

    lottie1987 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    HA HA well I thought I'd ask!!

    I literally turned on my laptop one day and it failed to recognise the internet in any way shape or form. I thought it was ery strange that plugging it into the router won't work either. My laptop had tried to download Windows Service pack one but it kept failing or freezing at a certain point during the update. I have tried to uninstall the service pack to reinstall but it won't let me get rid of the whole thing. I am now running a CHKDSK scan and it has been running for a few hours now, so I'll see what it says.

    I really don't want to install everything again, so hopefully the scan shows something up! Thanks for your help so far though!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/873349