1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell wireless-n 1510 won't connect

Discussion in 'Networking' started by steveg297, Jul 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. steveg297

    steveg297 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    I have a Dell Studio laptop running Vista 64 Home edition. I recenly installed a Wireless-n 1510 WLAN and it won't find any wireless networks. When I start up the computer the Wi-Fi Catcher says the band configuration is not compatible and reverts to b/g. Any ideas on how to rectify this problem?

    Thanks,

    Steveg297
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.

    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?



    I'd like to see this as well.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. steveg297

    steveg297 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Hi John,

    Here is what I have under Network adapters:
    Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Dell Wireless 1510 Wireless-N WLAN Mini-Card

    None of them have a red X and there aren't any conflicts.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\SteveG>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : SteveG-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-19-EB-26-F4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 9:29:14 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, July 16, 2009 9:29:14 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Thanks,

    SteveG297
     
  4. steveg297

    steveg297 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Hi John,

    Another data point, when I select the WLAN 1510 device and try to enable it it stays disabled.

    Any thoughts? If I can't fuigure this out soon, I'll have to send it back.

    Thanks,

    SteveG
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I'm guessing the drivers and the fact that you have Vista 64 bit probably figure into this issue. 64 bit drivers for Vista have been problematic all along.
     
  6. steveg297

    steveg297 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks for the reply. I've been working with Dell to figure it out and they haven't been able to get anywhere either. A faulty driver would explain that. :^(
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/843031

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice