1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell XPS 8500 No Boot Device Available

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by David_Jr, Sep 11, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. David_Jr

    David_Jr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    I-7 processor with 12 GB RAM, Win 8.1 installed. Purchased by my father in 2012. Sat new in box in his office for 5 years until Dad passed away and I took it out and tried to set it up for my mother. On first boot it crashed so I purchased a rescue restore USB drive from Dell and restored to a 240 GB SanDisk SSD and used the original 2 TB Hard drive as storage drive D and mapped the documents and pictures etc. folders to the storage drive. The machine came with Win 8.1, which I downgraded to Win 7 using a stand alone Windows 7 Home Premium disk because my elderly mother did not want to move from Windows 7 which she was used to. I also installed Acronis 2014 and set the computer to back up to an external USB drive periodically. That was February of 2017. About a month ago Mom said she was working on the computer and walked away from it and a little while later she came back and it was just a black screen. Rebooting the machine gives the message, No boot device available, press F1 key to retry boot, F2 to run the setup utility
    SATA 0: Installed
    SATA 1: Installed
    SATA 2: Installed
    SATA 3: None
    MSATA 1: None

    I tried googling and it seems a common problem with Dell and the XPS 8500. Several tips to try changing boot type, unseat video card and reseat, reseat RAM, etc. I run the setup utility diagnostics which report everything is ok, but same thing, No Boot Device Available. So I bought a new Crucial 500 GB SSD and restored the C drive from the Acronis backup, reboot and same error message. Any ideas what could be the problem here? Is it the motherboard, CMOS battery, something else? Any suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,672
    First Name:
    Jim
    The error message itself, simply means that it can't find a drive with boot information.

    I would disconnect all drives except the primary drive, clear the CMOS, and try booting.
     
  3. Jackmtech

    Jackmtech

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    It could have been malware that rewrote or deleted the MBR of the disk that makes the drive a data and not a boot drive
     
  4. David_Jr

    David_Jr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Thank you for the reply. How do you clear the CMOS? Is it just a matter of taking the battery out of the motherboard?
     
  5. David_Jr

    David_Jr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Would that also happen to a drive with a restored image from a backup onto a brand new SSD? It gives the same error message with the new drive with the restored image on it.
     
  6. David_Jr

    David_Jr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    OK I cleared the CMOS still no joy. Tried doing some more research on "No Boot Device available" error. Found this at AOMEI disk-partition.com regarding this error:
    -Boot from disk that doesn’t contain operating system. -MBR or boot sector on the bootable disk is corrupted.
    -The bootable disk is physically damaged or -You compute is infected with virus. They recommended several fix trys: Fix 1. Check boot order and reset BIOS settings to default (I tried this a hundred times so far already it seems); Fix 2. Perform a hard reset (I did the CMOS clear suggested earlier and di this, no joy); Fix 3. Run Startup Repair with Windows installation disc (I tried this already. I did not mention in my original post, but I tried this and received the message that windows could not repair automatically. Wondering now if I tried this on the image I created from Acronis TI 2014, thinking I didn't); Fix 4. Run Bootrec commands with Windows installation disc (I did this from the Comand prompt using Win 7 DVD, 1st bootrec /fixmbr, said operation successful 2nd bootrec /fixboot, says "element not found", I continue with bootrec /scanos and bootrec /rebuildbcd do a reboot and get same error. So go to Fix 5. Fix damaged MBR without Windows installation disc, which is a free download of their program AOMEI Partition with instructions to make bootable usb drive, which I do. Next instruction is to boot from the usb drive and right click the system hard drive and choose “Rebuild MBR”. So when I start the computer and the usb boots it shows my hard drive as disk 1 and shows it as 223.57GB with 223.57GB of free space!! At the bottom it shows 223.57GB Unallocated!!! See attached. So curiosity gets the best of me so I swap out hard drives and put the restored image drive that I made from the Acronis backup and run the program on it. It looks totally different. If I'm reading it right it looks like the drive has 3 partitions? With the main one having 465GB. Something tells me that the original SSD got wiped somehow? Sound likely? Ok then why does the new SSD give the same No boot device available error? I'm stumped. Do I possibly have a hardware issue going here? Thanks for listening
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,672
    First Name:
    Jim
    Wiped or corrupted somewhere along the way. It could have been corrupted from the start, thus you simply copied bad data to the new disk.

    It's common for Windows to create 2 partitions. I think all of my SSD's have two, one of which is a 100MB partition and the other is the rest of the drive space.

    At this point, I would keep the drive with data so that you can possibly restore her data, and I would perform a fresh install on the other SSD (or another new drive).
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1232837

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice