1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

desktop flashing icons

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by The toecap, Jan 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. The toecap

    The toecap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Hi All,
    Im new here and in desperation. My dell 4800 starts up but the desktop icons keep disappering and re apearing every 5 seconds. Im running xp. I've tried to use the virus scanner which is free with virgin media but this hasn't done anything. The desktop photo stays there but everything else flashes on and off even the tsk bar goes on and off.
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,894
    Download ComboFix from Here to your Desktop.

    **Note: It is important that it is saved directly to your desktop and run from the desktop and not any other folder on your computer**
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    1. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.

    • Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus, script blocking and any anti-malware real-time protection before performing a scan. They can interfere with ComboFix or remove some of its embedded files which may cause "unpredictable results"
    • Click on this link to see a list of programs that should be disabled. The list is not all inclusive. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.
    • Remember to re enable the protection again after combofix has finished
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    2. Close any open browsers and any other programs you might have running
    Double click on combofix.exe & follow the prompts.​
    If you are using windows XP It might display a pop up saying that "Recovery console is not installed, do you want to install?"
    Please select yes & let it download the files it needs to do this
    When finished, it will produce a report for you.
    Please post the "C:\ComboFix.txt" along with a new HijackThis log for further review


    ****Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it's running. That may cause it to stall or freeze ****

    Note: ComboFix may reset a number of Internet Explorer's settings, including making it the default browser.
    Note: Combofix prevents autorun of ALL CDs, floppies and USB devices to assist with malware removal & increase security. If this is an issue or makes it difficult for you -- please tell us when you reply. Read HERE why we disable autoruns
     
  3. The toecap

    The toecap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    I haven't done this yet. But i am having trouble accessing anything
     
  4. The toecap

    The toecap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for the help thus far. I cant open internet explorer to downlaod anything. It is in the open and close mode also. I did open and switch off all the anti virus stuff.
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,894
    in that case, you need to take it to a shop & get it fixed
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/792745