1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Desktop has no sound

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by RRRRRR, Aug 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RRRRRR

    RRRRRR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    I cannot get any sound from my desktop computer. My volume is maxed and drivers should be there but there is no sound. Help anyone?

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 650 @ 3.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 4023 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 320, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 469881 MB, Free - 355886 MB; D: Total - 469885 MB, Free - 454746 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer, Aspire X3950
    Antivirus: Norton Internet Security, Disabled
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,378
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Acer Aspire X3950 desktop appears to have Realtek High Definition Audio.

    Go to Control Panel - Device Manager.

    Click the + in Sound Video And Game Controllers.

    What's listed in that heading?

    Double-click the sound device (if it's present) to open its properties window.

    Click the Driver tab.

    What's listed for Driver Provider and Driver Date and Driver Version?

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    Is that desktop using a set of external powered speakers or is it using a monitor with built-in speakers?

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    What happened or what did you do with that computer before the sound issue occurred?

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. RRRRRR

    RRRRRR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    I have 4 NVIDIA High Definition Audio and 1 Realtek High Definition Audio.

    Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp
    Date: 12/1/2010
    Version 6.0.1.6024

    External speakers

    Something caused the cpu to not be able to startup and I sent it for repair
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,378
    First Name:
    Frank
    The most current Realtek High Definition Audio driver for Windows Vista 64-bit and Windows 7 64-bit is version 6.0.1.6873

    (Click the "Download latest version" link to download and save it)

    An install of the updated driver may resolve the issue.

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    I'm not there to see your computer, so I have no idea why you have NVIDIA and Realtek entries in the Sound Video And Game Controllers heading.

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    If that computer went in for repairs and then came back with the sound not working, I think you need find out what the repair person did and get the problem resolved.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. RRRRRR

    RRRRRR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    There is still no sound
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,378
    First Name:
    Frank
    Was the sound still working when you took that computer in for repairs?

    Was the sound not working after that computer was returned to you?

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. RRRRRR

    RRRRRR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    I'm not exactly sure but I think it was working
     
  8. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,637
    hi, on the back of your PC is your speakers connected to the green at the top or is there a connection point near the bottom ?
     
  9. RRRRRR

    RRRRRR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    My speakers occupy all 3 colors of the plug.
     
  10. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,637
    try connecting green only
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1106608

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice