1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Desktop hidden by black screen

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Jawilki, Jan 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jawilki

    Jawilki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Occasionally at bootup, I will get this "IOS(04) + 00000178 Error: 0E:0028:C0252840 Press any key" After pressing any key my desk top is hidden by a black screen. When the mouse pointer passes over an Icon it will show up and can be activated. I am using ME.
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
  3. Jawilki

    Jawilki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Eddie for the suggestion. I went to the support microsoft file you recommend & that fix didn't apply to Windows Me. I don't have taht file. I will return to support & see what else is available. Thanks again
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
  5. Jawilki

    Jawilki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    I tried the 187214 fix, but don't ahve that file. It appears these fixes are for Win 95 & 98. I did find article 308366 that I have to try & digest. I do have Norton Firewall & anti-virus that I won't give up to stop a once in awhile problem w/windows.

    Thanks again

    Jack
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Do you have any Iomega tools installed?

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;en-us;q243037

    Also, this is a real longshot, but I see the first part of that memory address for the IOS folder vxd associated with cdts.vxd

    CDTSD (01) = c100903c L 00000178 end c10091b4


    You could try replacing it by running msconfig and using the "extract one file" option. You will need your installation CD or cab files on the hard drive (c:\windows\options\cabs or c:\windows\options\install -- this varies with WinME installs)

    You might also want to put drwatson in your startups at least temporarily. If you can get it to generate a fault log try uploading it here as a .txt file attachment.

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;185837
     
  7. Jawilki

    Jawilki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Rollin Rog. I don't think I have any Iomega tools installed, but will double check. The Dr Watson sounds like a good idea also. As I said it is an intermittent problem that I haven't been able to cause at will.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115279

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice