1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Desktop icons are activating my dial up window

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by j0n003, Oct 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. j0n003

    j0n003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Icons on my desktop other than my browser and email are activating my modem dial up window. Where can I change settings to fix this. My Computer, My Documents, MS WORD are among the icons doing this. The last programs loaded were picture editing/printing from Kodak and upgrading FreshDevices DL mgr.

    AMD Athlon 750, Am. Mega mobo, Agree modem (driver is latest)

    Thanks,
    J
     
  2. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Hi Jon,

    Could you please download 'Hijack This!' from http://www.spywareinfo.com/files/hijackthis.zip
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan". When the scan is finished, click "Save Log", and copy and paste it in a reply.

    This will give us a rundown of what’s going on in your PC. One of us here will be glad to analyse it for you. Don’t fix anything yourself yet, as a lot of the stuff on that list will be harmless or required.

    It sounds as though you may have an unwanted dialler in there.

    Cheers

    Liam
     
  3. j0n003

    j0n003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks, Liam, here's the Hijackthis Log:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
    Scan saved at 9:50:23 AM, on 10/19/03
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\IOMEGA HOTBURN\AUTOLAUNCH.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZONEALARM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADAM\PALM\HOTSYNC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\KEYWALLET\KWALLET.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\FRESHDEVICES\FRESHDOWNLOAD\FD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = about:blank
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.refdesk.com/index.html
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {1E6F1D6A-1F20-11D4-8859-00A0CCE26836} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\SVA PLAYER\SVAPLAYER.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Cmaudio] RunDll32 cmicnfg.cpl,CMICtrlWnd
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RegisterDropHandler] C:\PROGRAM FILES\TEXTBRIDGE PRO 9.0\Bin\RegisterDropHandler.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Drag'n'Drop_Autolaunch] "C:\Program Files\Iomega HotBurn\Autolaunch.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Avgserv9.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [RegisterDropHandler] C:\PROGRAM FILES\TEXTBRIDGE PRO 9.0\Bin\RegisterDropHandler.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [KeyWallet] C:\PROGRAM FILES\KEYWALLET\KWallet.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [BMUpdate] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\BMUpdate.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE" /background
    O4 - Startup: HotSync Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adam\Palm\hotsync.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: ZoneAlarm.lnk = C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: SpellChecker (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .hpb: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\nphpipb.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .mp3: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin3.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .pdf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\nppdf32.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {9732FB42-C321-11D1-836F-00A0C993F125} (mhLabel Class) - http://216.167.69.148/mhLbl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (sys Class) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {90C9629E-CD32-11D3-BBFB-00105A1F0D68} (InstallShield International Setup Player) - http://www.installengine.com/engine/isetup.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Pool 2 - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/potc_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37864.2754166667
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab
    O16 - DPF: {20AD521D-3A3E-11D4-BC32-0050040D952B} (SwIcdInstall Class) - http://www.picturebuzz.com/common/programs/swicdad.cab



    I have another ? dealing with this forum that I've asked before w/o reply. Is there a way I can mark my posts so I can find them w/o searching?

    Sure hope the Hijack Log shows the the second dialer. My Networking folder shows the connection the I've used since upgrading to 98SE (2yrs). The connection is My Connection. It also shows RTSmini which I didn't create, but also shows no password entered. I've recently added a Brother Fax machine & software and also seperately a fax ap called MightyFax.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  4. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Hi Jon,

    Please run a new HJT! Scan, and check to fix the following entries. Next, close all browser windows and click the Fix checked button…

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = about :blank

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {1E6F1D6A-1F20-11D4-8859-00A0CCE26836} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\SVA PLAYER\SVAPLAYER.DLL

    O16 - DPF: {90C9629E-CD32-11D3-BBFB-00105A1F0D68} (InstallShield International Setup Player) - http://www.installengine.com/engine/isetup.cab


    Then delete the following bolded file/folder

    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SVA PLAYER

    Then please reboot and download Spybot - Search & Destroy, from www.tomcoyote.org/spybot : if you haven't already got the program.

    Now press Settings, and Settings again. Go to the Webupdate section, and check "Display also available beta versions".

    Now press Online, and search for, put a check mark at, and install all updates.

    Next, close all Internet Explorer windows, hit 'Check for Problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds marked RED.

    Then reboot and post a new log. :)

    The above is QuikFlix movie player, and teh page I was going to link up for you is not live jsut now.. suffice to say, you don't want it> :)

    As far as finding your posts, just go into your User Profile (there's a link at the top of each page) and set it to send you an e-mail every time you get a reply..(y)

    Cheers

    Liam
     
  5. j0n003

    j0n003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks, Liam, for staying with me on this!:)

    I followed your suggestions without a clitch untill I got to "Now press Online, and search for,... ) S&D came back with an error window saying Error retrieving update info file. I have and already had) S&D 1.2. What caused that? Should I uninstall S&D and reload it again?

    Here's Hijack so far:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
    Scan saved at 4:56:25 AM, on 10/20/03
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\IOMEGA HOTBURN\AUTOLAUNCH.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZONEALARM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADAM\PALM\HOTSYNC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\KEYWALLET\KWALLET.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.refdesk.com/index.html
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Cmaudio] RunDll32 cmicnfg.cpl,CMICtrlWnd
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RegisterDropHandler] C:\PROGRAM FILES\TEXTBRIDGE PRO 9.0\Bin\RegisterDropHandler.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Drag'n'Drop_Autolaunch] "C:\Program Files\Iomega HotBurn\Autolaunch.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Avgserv9.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [RegisterDropHandler] C:\PROGRAM FILES\TEXTBRIDGE PRO 9.0\Bin\RegisterDropHandler.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [KeyWallet] C:\PROGRAM FILES\KEYWALLET\KWallet.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE" /background
    O4 - Startup: HotSync Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adam\Palm\hotsync.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: ZoneAlarm.lnk = C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: SpellChecker (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .hpb: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\nphpipb.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .mp3: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin3.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .pdf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\nppdf32.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {9732FB42-C321-11D1-836F-00A0C993F125} (mhLabel Class) - http://216.167.69.148/mhLbl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (sys Class) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Pool 2 - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/potc_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37864.2754166667
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab
    O16 - DPF: {20AD521D-3A3E-11D4-BC32-0050040D952B} (SwIcdInstall Class) - http://www.picturebuzz.com/common/programs/swicdad.cab

    Thanks for the help and the ans. to marking my posts. I'm off to work on the road (so won't be near this computer) for 4 days.

    J
     
  6. j0n003

    j0n003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    BTB I don't have the modem problem anymore so it's Solved right, but there is the problem with the error on update. Right?

    But Thanks for getting rid of the reason I started this :D
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/172613

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice