1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Desktop Icons keep getting deleted.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by KevzJD, Oct 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KevzJD

KevzJD Thread Starter

Right ok not sure if this is the correct part of the forum to post it but I would imagine so. I work as a First Line Support Incident Handler and basically work in a help desk call centre thing and often get calls where a user has logged onto another w/s and they've lost their icons and I'm not too sure why it happens. I was just wondering if anybody had any ideas why this is happening? Is it their profile getting corrupt on the server or network issues or what? The users icons are on the previous w/s they logged onto but when they go on to any other workstation that they haven't logged onto before its not showing them, its like they've been deleted from their profile on the server, so any ideas?

Thanks!

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    I think that one of the first things for you to do is to find out what operating system is on the server and what operating system(s) on the workstations. And, the configuration of the network may also be important.

3. blakcshadow

blakcshadow

are the different workstations they are logging using different OSes?

4. KevzJD

KevzJD Thread Starter

I'm not to sure about the OS on the server, I work for a company that deals with HM Revenue & Customs so i would imagine it would be like Server 2003? Also all workstations use the same operating system; Windows XP Professional.

5. blakcshadow

blakcshadow

since i've only had limited experience with servers and domains, I'll leave this to the pros. good luck guys

6. Window

Window