Solved desktop mode wont enable

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

zorgan

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
243
I thought i'd post a video here to show what's happening, any time I try to load the desktop it crashes out and shows wallpaper only, then right click and the start tiles show again.

if you look at the top right the third time I do it you can see the deskop icons flash up just for a moment, i've also ran malwarebytes on this system and it's clean.

 

bobs-here

Bob
Joined
Mar 12, 2016
Messages
3,182
try running a system file check
open admin command prompt
type
sfc /scannow
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2016
Messages
61
I would follow this method. CTL+ALT+DEL then click file and new task. then type explorer.exe and press ok
 

zorgan

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
243
it's the OS the laptop came with theon, it's designed for windows 10 !!

hp 14-ac108na
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2016
Messages
61
it's the OS the laptop came with theon, it's designed for windows 10 !!

hp 14-ac108na
That changes eveything, Zorgan.

I would backup my stuff as said earlier and either run a repair, or recovery from inside windows, if its possible.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,203
After running the deployment image servicing command if it reports all in order and still the desktop will not load with icons etc
We need to check a couple of issues
Are you familiar with the use of regedit to check a registry subkey that controls the desktop via explorer and shell
Do not worry if you are not, I can guide you through the procedure
 

zorgan

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
243
okay performed a

Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

command, still the issue resides

Macboatmaster thank you, yes I'm familiar with CMD console commands to a certain degree, I've also ran a chkdsk /r on the drive

I can also navigate the registry to a certain degree also and have experience doing regedits in the past
 

bobs-here

Bob
Joined
Mar 12, 2016
Messages
3,182
okay performed a
Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth
command, still the issue resides
(y)ok, its likely the steps of checking the registry subkey, will have the desire effect and narrow things down
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,203
go regedit - right click run as admin
HKLM Software that is local machine
software - see first screenshot please
Untitled1.png
navigate to this sub key
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\Shell
see second screenshot please
do not make any changes
see screenshot what does your show please
Untitled.png
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top