Desktop settings not saved

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Angelrat

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2007
Messages
5
My desktop settings are not being saved. I can turn off auto arrange and arrange the icons to my liking but when I reboot they are arranged on the left of the screen. Same goes for Quick Launch. I can turn it on and it's there but when I reboot it's gone.

Any help would be appreciated. It's driving me nuts.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
310
Have you tried creating a new user and logging in as that? Maybe your current user profile is corrupt.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
310
They won't be under the new user name, but if creating a new user works, I can tell ya how to copy over your My Documents, Favorites, etc to the new profile.
 

Angelrat

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2007
Messages
5
Creating a new account worked. Is there no way to repair a user profile?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
310
Not to my knowledge =/... Someone correct me if I'm wrong... But I've never had luck repairing corrupt user accounts.

To copy over your files from the other profile:
  • Log into the old account or administrator, anything other than the new profile or you may get Access Denied errors since the files are in use.
  • Goto My Computer > C:\Documents and Settings\(Name of old profile)
  • Copy the following folders to C:\Documents and Settings\(Name of new profile): Desktop, My Documents, Favorites, and Start Menu.

Click yes to any message asking you if you want to over write the current files.
 

Angelrat

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2007
Messages
5
Thanks! That worked. I assume that I can delete the old profile then create that profile again and copy it all back over... and I'm back with the old profile?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
310
Thats correct, for the most part =). Alot of apps will be back to their default settings, so you may run into things you'll have to redo now and then (Window sizes, background, etc). Other than that though, you should be good.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top