Desktop very slow on internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BOB1932

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2004
Messages
7
Running xp pro, IE 8,FF 18.1, Aol 9.6.All three browser are now running very slow.I have fios,had test done and is 18 or 19 meg down and about 4.5 meg up.I have run spywear (2 different one) nothing. Run N I Security.Problem started about 1-2 weeks ago with FF ,did not notice then if it started with others. I have two laptops (xp pro &MS 7) on network and they are OK.Just my desktop that is hard wired, is the only computer that goes very slow on the internet.It does not matter if the laptops are connected or not ,still a problem with the desktop.I have checked the router home page and only see my computers hooked up.What I mean by being slow ---web pages (tabs) take 2-5 minutes to load or longer.AOL has always been slow but FF was much better. now FF is really bad. IE is just a little better than aol. I did a total reset and then a uninstall and reinstall.Nothing,then noticed that the other browsers are slower to. Any ideas.

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: Intel Pentium III Xeon processor, x86 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 3326 Mb
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series, 512 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 501944 MB, Free - 298973 MB; D: Total - 372766 MB, Free - 349318 MB; E: Total - 327826 MB, Free - 327690 MB; F: Total - 499921 MB, Free - 148614 MB; G: Total - 79156 MB, Free - 78668 MB;
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., EP45-UD3P
Antivirus: Norton Internet Security, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
 

BOB1932

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2004
Messages
7
I had tried system restore a few times ,final time is back to Jan 1 2013. As far as rebooting,my system is shut down at night.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,829
Uninstall Norton (make sure you know the product key) and run the Norton Removal Tool. You can reinstall it after testing.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

BOB1932

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2004
Messages
7
I had tried the ICP/IP stack repair,but I had NIS working.Will try in morning after I uninstall nortons
By the way I started the desk top in safe mode with networking. FF worked very good. So what does that mean?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,829
By the way I started the desk top in safe mode with networking. FF worked very good. So what does that mean?
That the cause of the problem is a process or service that runs in normal mode but not in Safe Mode with Networking.
 

BOB1932

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2004
Messages
7
I uninstalled NIS and ran netshell.The same thing with the different browsers. FF still has the green light spinning for a few minutes. Why can fire fox work in safe mode with networking but not is regular mode?
 

BOB1932

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2004
Messages
7
Thanks for all the time answering me.The trouble was very simple to fix long as you knew what to do.I had cleared the internet files in the browsers but not in windows--INTERNET OPTIONS.Once I followed info from below the speed went back to normal.So thanks for your time.



go to your control panel

open internet options

choose the connections tab

click the lan settings button

ensure that the proxy server setting has nothing next to address and the box is unchecked for "use a proxy server..."

hit ok

click on the general tab

under browser history, choose delete

delete temporary internet files



click ok on everything, try again
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top