1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Desperate to delete this Internet Explorer / Javascript artifact!

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by ocplayers, Nov 11, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ocplayers

ocplayers Thread Starter

I was visiting some Asian sites via search engine, and somewhere along the way there must have been a site with Javascript code that affected my Internet Explorer 5.5

Now the very top of my Internet Explorer browser always reads "Chinese Music At Sailingmoon.com" and there doesn't seem to be anything I could do to get rid of this message.

The only thing I could think of to resolve this problem is by editing my registry files, but I've never done this before (and wouldn't know how to do so safely). And this is very risky.

Is there a simpler or alternative solution that I could try?

PLEASE HELP ME. Thank you.

2. Sharon D

Sharon D

Hi ocplayers. Welcome to TSG. I hate to tell you this, but you are indeed going to have to do a little registry editing. Follow the instructions in this MS article to regain your original IE windows title:
    http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q176/4/97.ASP?

But before you do that you should Backup the registry key that you are going work with. Here's how to do it: