1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Desperate

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Networknewb, Jan 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Networknewb

    Networknewb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    AMD AlthonXP 2800
    1gig kingston pc3200 CL3.0
    ECS KT600-A motherboard
    Nvida 5200ultra FX
    400watt Coolmax V-400 PSU

    WinXP Home, SP2 - all the latest updates. Virus scans, and spyware scans/protections. (AVG, Spybot, spyware blaster)

    I have replaced RAM, MB, PSU, HD and now after much expense I am getting the following codes:

    0x0000008E (0xC0000005, 0x00000001, 0xF789E710, 0x00000000)

    0x00000050 (0xFFFFFF93, 0x00000001, 0xDFEBB6FE, 0x00000000)

    0x00000050 (0xFFFFFFFF, 0x00000000, 0xFFFFFFFF, 0x00000000)

    0x0000008E (0xC0000005, 0x8056E28F, 0xF44E5B18, 0x00000000)

    I thought maybe WinXP was corrupted, but I changed my HD out with one that had only WinXP and sound drivers. No other programs like antivirus, etc. Still got errors.

    CPU has a coppermine big ole cooler on it. But I swear the chipset runs hotter than it should, but thats by feeling it not by measuring the temperature.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  4. Networknewb

    Networknewb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    The memory is fine

    Anyone know what these errors mean? I cant find any of them doing a web search.
     
  5. Deathblow

    Deathblow

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,826
    When you said you changed yourHD out, do you mean you put a new one in and then Installed XP on it?
     
  6. Networknewb

    Networknewb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    I loaded WinXP onto a blank drive 3 days ago to make sure that the current HD wasnt going bad. It only has WinXP on it. I still get errors with this *fresh* drive. So the HD isnt going out and WinXP isnt or shouldnt be whats corrupt/going bad.
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    http://www.aumha.org/kbestop.htm


    Are any driver files mentioned in those STOPs?

    You can try running verifier.exe which will, by default, stress test uncertified drivers on reboot.

    Make sure you can boot to Safe Mode before running it, as you may need to do that to disable it if it gives you a STOP error.

    To disable it, run: verfier /reset or just verfier again and have it delete existing settings.

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;244617

    You can also use the "custom" (developer) options to test more than just uncertified drivers.

    You can also examine the minidump files in more detail by installing Microsft Debugging Tools and using debugwiz on them.

    http://www.helpwithwindows.com/techfiles/explorer-crashes.html
     
  8. Networknewb

    Networknewb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Nice link to the error site.

    I wonder if an out of date BIOS could be causing these errors. The newer BIOS versions dont say anything in the patch notes about improved features that apply to my system.
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    It's really hard to say. You can try googling the motherboard model and associate it with the STOP errors

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=ECS KT600-A 0x0000008E&qt_s=Search&sa=N&tab=gw

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=ECS+KT600-A+0x00000050&btnG=Search

    and see if any of the hits sounds familiar. The board isn't overclocked is it?

    Sometimes older BIOS' versions can be incompatible with current hardware such as Networking cards.

    By the way do these STOP errors occur on startup, offline, online, all 3 ?

    Have you updated the Display drivers or tried a different card (the one thing you haven't mentioned)?

    If you are concerned about temps, you can use PC Wizard to measure them:

    http://www.cpuid.com/pcwizard.php
     
  10. Networknewb

    Networknewb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    I dont overclock. I have tried a different vid card when I was getting errors before I changed the ram out (2 days ago) but not with the errors I was getting last night. I am using the onboard adapter instead of a pci ethernet card.
     
  11. Networknewb

    Networknewb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    I finally just took it back to the PC shop who installed the MB. It wont BSOD untill the northbridge starts getting hot (hotter than touch). We sat there in the PC shop 2 days ago for 2hrs with me trying to crash it and it didnt. But I noticed the northbridge never got hot like at home (the room we were in was like 60 degrees also with case open). When I got back home that night after about 2.5hrs I got chain BSOD and the northbridge was hot to the touch (over 100 degrees farenhiet). So I told the PC tech to run it through its paces and get the northbridge hot and see if he can crash it.

    IMO it is a MB or cpu problem after all the stuff I have tried. Hopefully they will tell me today. Last time I buy an economy MB. I dont mind limited features for this computer but it should actually perform under gaming stress.
     
  12. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    It does sound like a chipset problem -- but 100 f is not hot by any standard -- so you would need a more accurate gauge of temp than mere touch.

    Anyway, good luck and let us know how it turns out.

    PS: did all these BSOD's occur under gaming conditions? And were they online games?
     
  13. frankjohn

    frankjohn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,798
    IF you can download PCWIZARD
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Desperate
  1. wmn1
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    911
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/435595