1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

destination drive reject problem

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Techoidiot, Oct 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Techoidiot

Techoidiot Thread Starter

Firstly, this is my first post to the group so please bear with me...I am NOT very technical, but I am intuitive. I don't know if anyone has had this problem but I hope someone can help.

I am running EMC 10 on Windows Vista. Every time I try to copy a non-copyrighted DVD, I can successfully get through the first stage. When prompted to insert a blank disc, I do. The tray reopens and I get this message " Insert disc...Please insert a blank disc in this drive. Possible disc types are DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R, DVD+R DOUBLE LAYER, DVD+RW." This happens every time I try to copy a dvd using any of the copy applications. Every time! I have every type of disk suggested and have tried this using each type...no success. I've tried copying the disc to the desktop and the hard drive. This only allows me to play it on a computer, not a DVD player. Please note though,as unusual as this sounds, during the course of trying to find the problem, I was able to make a copy only once from each selection on the Roxio menu. These were "Copy DVD", "Copy Disc" and "Burn Image" When I tried a 2nd time, thinking I had it fixed, it would not let me and the same window popped up over and over again. I've spent countless hours searching all over this computer looking for some setting or way to solve this problem. I'm at the point now that I may go out and buy other software other than Roxio to see if that is where the problem lies.