1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Detect wireless network, but cannot connect

Discussion in 'Networking' started by naterpater, Nov 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. naterpater

    naterpater Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    I am trying to set up wireless internet in my home with a Netgear WGT624v4 router. After shutting everything down and starting up my modem, waiting, and then plugging in the router, the "wireless" led should, after a minute, remain on, instead it just flashes.
    I am able to detect the wireless network on my computer, but when I try to connect, it just times out. What should I do?
     
  2. attman

    attman

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    try a different wireless card?
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. naterpater

    naterpater Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    My ISP is Comcast, I use Mozilla Firefox
    Modem: Motorola SB 5100 SURFboard Cable Modem
    Router: Netgear 108Mbps Wireless Router WGT624v4
    No encryption or firewalls.
    Windows XP for Home

    I have a LAN connection running through the router right now, but cannot connect (though I can detect) the wireless signal. When I try to connect, the message box says "Please wait while Windows connects to the network." The little green bar keeps going and nothing happens, and it times out.

    I can use my computer at coffee shops or with neighbors' wireless networks, so I'm pretty sure my wireless card works.

    A little backstory: I just moved from a house where I was using the same modem and computer as I am now, with a different router. When the guy from Comcast set up broadband here at the new house, he was having a similar problem connecting to the wireless. He suggested my router was bad, so I got this one (the Netgear WGT625v4), but am still having problems.

    I went to the router login page, and made sure the SSID was the same for the router and the computer, and the ISP is set to be automatically detected, which it is.

    Here are the commands you asked for:
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>PING 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=96ms TTL=50
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=50
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=50
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=50

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 94ms, Maximum = 96ms, Average = 95ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>PING yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [68.180.206.184] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=53
    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=53
    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=53
    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 68.180.206.184:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 31ms, Maximum = 34ms, Average = 32ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>NBTSTAT -n

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.2] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    LIFEBOOK <00> UNIQUE Registered
    LIFEBOOK <20> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
    WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered
    WORKGROUP <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    Wireless Network Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LIFEBOOK
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-42-07-E0-B7
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, November 14, 2008 11:43:16 A
    M
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, November 15, 2008 11:43:16
    AM

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-44-4D-B0
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Hmm... Zeros frequently indicate that you have driver issues with the wireless card. Have you reloaded the latest wireless drivers for your machine?
     
  6. naterpater

    naterpater Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Just updated and reinstalled my wireless drivers, still having problems...
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Here's the whole list:

    IP addresses of all zeros are normally caused by one of the following.

    Diagnosis:

    1. DHCP Service not running.
    2. Duplicate IP address on the network.
    3. Bad NIC card drivers.
    4. Defective NIC hardware.

    Resolution:

    1. Check Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. The DHCP Client service should be Started and its Startup Type should be Automatic.
    2. Turn off ALL of the computers and other network connected devices, restart (power cycle) the router, then restart all the computers and other network devices.
    3. Check for upgraded drivers and/or reload the Network drivers.
    4. Replace the Network Interface Card.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/769139

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice