1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Determining hardware configuration

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by abeer_d, Mar 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. abeer_d

    abeer_d Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Hi,
    How can I <b> determine </b>the entire <b> hardware conifguration </b> of a PC (RAM, HDD capacity, processor speed & type, even the graphics card type & its speed, memory etc etc etc) <b>using</b> just its <b> OS (Windows 98/2000/Me/XP) </b> and not using any downloadable tools....or asking the vendor :D

    Thanks.
     
  2. MadDogMugsy

    MadDogMugsy Guest

    would Start / Help / Search - system information give you the info you are looking for?
    It will give you Hardware Resources, Components, Software Environment, Internet Explorer and Applications information - or do you need to go deeper?

    cheers
    MDM
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That must be in the textbook of the course you're taking, right? :)
     
  4. brushmaster1

    brushmaster1

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    3,337
    If you watch during POST, all the information you need should be displayed. Any Windows only information, however (Windows version, etc.) can be found in system properties.
     
  5. abeer_d

    abeer_d Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    OK Guys,
    Here's a specific query. How do i check out the processor speed of the PC(I know about the POST but is there a way to do the processor speed check from within windows?)

    Thanx.
     
  6. abeer_d

    abeer_d Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    JohnWill,
    This forum beats all the text-books in the world.
    :p
     
  7. torgo

    torgo

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    in xp to get cpu speed go to control panel:performance:basic information about your computer.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you cruise over to AIDA32 and download the Enterprise Edition of this package, it'll tell you all you want to know about your configuration.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/122195

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice