1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Determining the IP addresses of all connected devices on my network...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by paydepst, Jul 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. paydepst

    paydepst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    I'm sure this is a simple thing but for some reason I'm having problems. I have two computers--one, a laptop using Vista, connects wirelessly to my Vonage VOIP router through a Trendnet TEW-637 access point and the other, a desktop using XP Pro is wired directly to the Vonage router. My Motorola Surfboard router feeds the Vonage router.

    I need a program that will tell me the IP addresses of all these attached devices and identify them automatically. Running the ipconfig/all command is only giving me information about the box itself. Is there anything out there that will do this?
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,493
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I'm a SuperScan person, I really like it, and it's dirt simple. :)
     
  4. paydepst

    paydepst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks for that guys! I will look into it.
     
  5. paydepst

    paydepst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Is there an option in either of these programs that instructs the program to run in an "autoscan" mode for lack of a better term and list every address of everything connected to it and tell me by name what those devices are? I downloaded them both and it appears they want you to enter a range of addresses to scan. That's okay but I'd like for it to tell me the address of everything connected to it.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, you have to have a range of addresses to scan, you can't really expect any application to scan the whole 16 million possible IP addresses!

    I'm not sure I understand the question.
     
  7. paydepst

    paydepst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    <Grin>

    I hear you John. No you understand the question but what if you don't know the range to specify? That's why I was hoping for a program that would autodetect connected equipment and tell me what it was and where it was. Ipconfig does this to a point but I'm not always certain what pieces of equipment the addresses are pointing to.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, you just need to look at the subnet mask. ;)

    Let's assume you're running a typical home network and you have a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0 and an IP addres of 192.168.1.103 for instance.

    The range you'd be scanning would be 192.168.1.1 through 192.168.1.255 based on the IP address and the subnet you're operating in.
     
  9. paydepst

    paydepst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Ok I'll run Ipconfig and check the parameters and plug them in then. I figured it was something simple. Thanks for that.
     
  10. paydepst

    paydepst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Maybe I'm doing something wrong but after plugging in the parameters in SuperScan I couldn't make heads or tails out of its report. I got more information out of Ipconfig. The Superscan report didn't tell me anything useful. In fact there wasn't much to it. Guess I'll just try and figure it out with ipconfig.

    I've attached a PDF of the report so you can see what I'm talking about.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I use an older version of SuperScan, I have to admit, I'm disappointed in version 4. It only finds one host on my machines as well, I'd try the other program that Terry mentioned, it has to work better. You could also find one of the many links for SuperScan 3, which is the version I use.
     
  12. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,730
    Posted via Mobile Device
    yeah SS4 is all messed up. I haven't used it in a while but there are some settings you have to make to make it work like version 3. I always just use version 3 because I hate version 4 so much. another option is angry IP scanner.
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I was surprised when it didn't work nice and clean like version three. :(
     
  14. paydepst

    paydepst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Just call me looking for version 3 then guys! I thought about Angry IP Scanner but didn't download it.
     
  15. paydepst

    paydepst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Why does Prevx interpret SuperScan as a threat? Is it mimicking hacker activity?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/846428