Device Manager is empty, and I can't install drivers.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

givemeitems

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
12
Hey guys, I've had an empty Device Manager for a long time and I'm only now trying to find out how to fix it.

I didn't really worry about it before because everything was working fine, even though it was empty. But recently when I've been trying to install drivers for my video card, and my new game controller there have been issues. For example the driver installation for my radeon 9600 card refuses to start up. And the driver installer for my gamepad fails to recognize that it's even plugged in (even though games recognize the controller just fine).

I'm guessing these driver problems are related to the empty device manager? The installer won't install the drivers because it doesn't think the devices are even installed or plugged in the computer.

These are the things I've tried so far. I got these solutions from google searching.
Checking Plug and Play - It's set to automatic.
mscoonfig -> services - Hide All Microsoft Services is unchecked.
Aproposfix.exe - Still empty.
Editing Permissions in the Registry - Still doesn't work.

I've ran spyware and virus tests too. They found a lot of things, but I'm still having trouble.

Any ideas guys?
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
Messages
833
givemeitems said:
I've ran spyware and virus tests too. They found a lot of things, but I'm still having trouble.?
I think I'd opt for a re-format and reinstallation.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
If DM is empty, it is usually because a service is not running. Are your Plug-and-Play and Shell Hardware Detection services running and set to automatic?
 

tony007

Banned
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,343
I'de try a repair(upgrade) install before doing a reformat you wont lose anything and the pertinent files may be reinstalled.
 

givemeitems

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
12
Yes, they are both started.

And I don't even think I can do the reformat/reinstalling thing.

I'm not 100% sure, but don't you need the windows CDs to do that? I never bought windows, my computer came loaded with it when I bought it.
 

tony007

Banned
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,343
Did'ent you get a reload or recovery cd with it when you bought it, how old is it? What make is it?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top