1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Device Manager (Monitor Missing)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by AsheAnubis, May 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AsheAnubis

AsheAnubis Thread Starter

Ok here it goes....

I was playing Bioshock and my computer froze. I got some crazy pink screen and then nothing so I had to do a hard restart. (SUCKED)

So, I turned it back on and noticed my Monitor Drivers were deleted? (ViewSonic 21" VX2025wm) I then of coarse reinstalled and everything seemed to be working nicely.

I started playing Call of Duty 4 and I could see some glitching so I stopped playing and started up my Nvidia System Monitor so I could watch the temp of the Video Card (8800GTXOC BFG). Noticed the temp rise to about 81 degrees C which is normal for the card and it crashed again. So now I'm convinced its the video card. Went to Nvidia Website and DL the newest drivers for the card v180.52. Of coarse I had to reinstall the Monitor drivers as well.

So all that done. I started playing one more time to see the results (Stupid I know) and the same thing happened but this time the Monitor and Sound Card Drivers were deleted. (Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2). So I tried installing the sound card but I get this message (The File 'catc32k.sys' on Creative installer CD-ROM is needed) So I put the disk in and try to reinstall it but nothing. I even tried to manually remove and start over but still nothing.