1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Device Manager not updating

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ankit, Apr 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ankit

    Ankit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    551
    Hi

    I recently reformatted my computer in which now my computer is running very choppy. I right clicked my computer went to device manager and I noticed that my VGA controller has a questions mark on it. So i tried to update the driver but wasn't able to because of this message"CANNOT INSTALL THIS HARDWARE: The hardware was not installed because the wizard cannot find the necessary software". I have the cd that came with my computer and when i put the cd in the drive it still can't find anything ?. I don't know what to do if anyone could guide me on how about i can go at this, i would appreciate it
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Step one is to not use Device Manager, unless instructed to do so by the instructions. Device Manager isn't terribly smart and in most cases drivers come in a single setup/installation file that you must run to install the driver.

    If you have a driver CD then run it and you should find an installation wizard on it to install a specific driver or all of the drivers.
     
  3. Ankit

    Ankit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    551
    my computer is custom made, i don't know what video card i have or anything, someone please help me out.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    What CD are you trying to use? What does it say on it?

    Download SIW: http://www.gtopala.com/siw-download.html

    Take a screen shot of SIW open to the "Hardware" -> "Motherboard" section and the "PCI" section. Make sure to re-size the PCI section so it shows all teh items.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/919872

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice