'Devise not ready' CD-ROM Windows 98SE

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Singer35

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
42
I had to reformat my C: drive (no partitions) and reinstall Windows 98SE and everything worked well at first. Windows itself installed perfectly but after installing many programs suddenly my CD-ROM (drive F) stopped working. Devise manager says it is working fine but it won't read a CD. After inserting a CD the light goes on as if reading it - but then I get the message that the "devise is not ready. I've tried reinstalling/updating the driver but apparently it's the correct driver for that CD-ROM.

Drive F [CD writer] works properly.

Any help appreciated,

Fran
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Can you boot to a DOS floppy that has CD support and access the drive.

Also, most times you don't need any drivers for Win98 to access a CD ROM.
 

Singer35

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
42
Bob Cerelli said:
Can you boot to a DOS floppy that has CD support and access the drive.

Also, most times you don't need any drivers for Win98 to access a CD ROM.
tried rebooting to floppy and although I can access the drive I get the "Abort/Fail/Retry' option.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
If neither Windows or DOS will recognize your CD ROM, it could be a defective CD or CD ROM Drive. Try replacing both.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Singer35 said:
tried rebooting to floppy and although I can access the drive I get the "Abort/Fail/Retry' option.

Have you tried reading more than one cd?
 

Singer35

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
42
I've tried that by 'updating driver" from a 'selected drive' but it says the driver is the correct one then does nothing. I don't want to delete anything untill I know for sure what I'm doing. Also when I startup I get a screen saying that there Windows has found 'new [unamed] hardware' and asks to install the driver. When I put in the CD it says it can't find one. REally weird as it worked fine yesterday morning so it's must be something I've loaded but didn't know about. I'm getting bleary eyed now so will try to work on it again tomorrow.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top