DFI Lanparty IDE hangup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jamsum

I built a system using a DFI Lanparty board using IDE raid 0, which the board was made for (not ATA), with W2k, SP4. I used 2 160g drives to do this, used good components, lots of memory, etc. It worked fine for quite awhile, until I added an MT 4 sound card for the purpose of in house music recording and editing (I'm also a part time musician). Almost immediately, it started to hang, so I decided to uninstall the card and software. Did that, then when I rebooted the system, at the last stage of the boot process, just when you think everythng is cool, I get a blue screen registry error message. I am no programmer, but I do know a lot of basic recovery methods, and none of them worked. My main question is this- is there bootable software available on CD that I can use to address this registry error issue, or is there another approach? Keep in mind that I can get to a command prompt screen that allows me to see that all the files are still there with a directory command, yet cannot boot in safe mode or any other F8 option, even when I use the W2k CD. I still get the blue screen error message which passes very quickly, something like ...security.ini..., and then the system reboots repeatedly, ad infinitum, like it is in a loop, to the same results every time, until I shut off the power. If you have any input, please let me know at '[email protected]'

jamsum

jamsum said: