DFS Empty Folder

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Kirbyd

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
5
:confused:

I've setup a DFS system on Windows 2000 servers. I am currently using Windows NT 4.0, SP6 as my client. The first partition is Server1 and the second partition is Server2. Some of my PC's can see both partitions, some can only see Server1. Server 2 can be seen but the folders under it can not. The rights are the same on both folder; Everyone with Full Control. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Kirbyd
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
111
You mention that the client (singular) is NT 4.0 but you also mentioned that some see and some don't. Do all the clients use the same OS? And what protocols are you using on the clients? Are they they same? I know, I answered a question with more questions. Sorry. :)
 

Kirbyd

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
5
They are all NT 4.0 with SP6. The protocols being used are: TCP/IP, NWLink(Netware). Thanks!
 

Kirbyd

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
5
The only thing I can see is Server2. Nothing will show that is created under there from certain PC's. I can create folders from certain PC's but not from the others.

It seems like a rights issue but it just seems odd that some systems will and some won't.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
111
You could try taking off the NWLink protocol, and just run TCP/IP. Unless you're using the NWLink because of Netware.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 1999
Messages
59
Only 1 DFS root is allowed on each server. I guess when you say server1 partition this is one server and server 2 partition is a second server with a link from the first? Both servers must be in the same domain. You can 't link from one domain to a child domain as the same type of thing will occur as what your experiencing. I just thought I would throw this out as food for thought.
 

Kirbyd

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
5
Correct. Server1 and server2 are in the same domain, Server 1 has the DFS and server 2 is the leaf.

I will check the version of Nwlink and see if that makes a different. All laptops and PC's are running Nwlink. Thanks for your help!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top