1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DHCP issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by princetech, Feb 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. princetech

    princetech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    hi

    i have just set up a physcial server using server 2012 and i am running a few virtual machines on it using hyper v the issue the vms are all joined to the domain, however the issue i am having is when i log into these virtual machines they take forever to log in i belive this is due to the fact the dhcp is still coming from my superhub.

    What i did i was i turned off my dhcp on the superhub and set up the dhcp on the server but after doing that my wireless devices at home did not connect where have i gone wrong

    Also my server is not always going to be on so is it possible to have 2 dhcp servers on a network.
    The dhcp on the superhub will serve the wireless devices and one physcial desktop
    and the dhcp server on the server can serve the vms?
     
  2. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6,130
    Unless you have some sort of layer 2 isolation between the two DHCP servers (either through having them physically separate or through logical isolation--VLAN), you cannot have two DHCP servers operating on the same layer 2 network.
     
  3. princetech

    princetech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    These virtual machines only take a long time if im login into it via the domain
     
  4. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6,130
    Not sure exactly what you're meaning but if you're saying the login time to these VMs are long when you try to do a domain login, this tells me there's a problem with your AD server.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088407

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice