DHCP Lease Problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

coldsweat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
3
Having a very frustrating problem.

Heres the scoop i cant get a good IP address from my DHCP server. It's an at home network and Ive been able to get this network adapter to work before with x64 but not with this particular machine (Upgraded). First it take forever to aquire an address and sometimes it gives me "limited or no connectivity"

Here's ipconfig /all you'll see some issues.

Host Name computer
primar dns suffix.........(blank)
Node Type................Unknown (This cant be right)
IP Routing Enabled..........NO
WINS Proxy Enabled........NO
DNS Suffix Search List...........WorkGroup

Ethernet adapter wireless network connection:

Connection-specific DNS suffix .......WorkGroup
Description........Ralink RT2500 Wireless LAN Card
Physical Address...............00-12-17-8e-12-43
DHCP Enabled................Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled......Yes
IP Address........192.168.2.37
Subnet Mask........... 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway......192.168.2.1
DNS Servers...........192.168.2.1
Lease Obtained.....Wed, Jan 10 2007 10:36:05PM (heres the problem)
Lease Expires........Wed, Jan 10 2007 10:36:04PM (Got no clue whats wrong)

Im thinking it's an easy fix or a Critical system shatering malfunction. Im using other computers that get normal leases that are good for about 8 days and my access point shows my problem machine getting a good IP lease. I looked up the "Unknown" Node type issue and microsoft said something about registery keys for "EnableProxy" not being set to 0 or 1 but I dont have said key in the reg. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\NetBT
So I added it ( EnableProxy Dword = 0) and restarted my machine and no change. Note the knowledge base said it was for xp-32bit so most likely it has nothing to do with me.

And so at this moment i'm stumped. If anyone knows whats up it would be much appreciated
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
1,729
Check your Services are Started on the machine:
Workstation
DHCP Client, Server
TCP/IP Netbios helper
Computer Browser.

Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services.
 

coldsweat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
3
They're all good. I reset the lease time on the DHCP server and now i get a Reasonable lease time stamp but still no connection. No pings get to the gateway but it shows the connection as being ok. Tried ipconfig /renew and it says unable to contact my server. But I still get an Address.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
1,729
DHCP server, I assume that that is a router and not a big company scale computer dishing out the IP's?
 

coldsweat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
3
OK I'm not sure how or why but I touched the antenna on the back of the card and it started working. I think the card or antenna just needed to be seated. thanks for the input. annoying huh?
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
1,729
Ah, didn't see wireless. I wouldn't have suggested touching the antenna though...

Glad to know you got it sorted.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top