DI-624 Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

divt154

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
223
Hi,

I have Verizon FiOS and they give you a router included: the D-link DI-624. You connect a cable from the WAN port from the back of the router to a wall socket they install.

Recently, it hasn't been able to get a DHCP client connection. Now, it displays this:



How do I get the DHCP client to connect?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,933
What's on the other end of the "wall socket"?

It's good that you get different IPs on wireless and ethernet--else you'd get a duplicate IP failure.
 

divt154

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
223
There's nothing on the other end, at least that I know of. You just plug in the ethernet cable into the socket.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,933
"There's nothing on the other end, ..."

Yeah, funny. I don't remember seeing the stuff about Verizon FiOS before; is that what you edited or did my eyes/brain initially fail me?

I would assume there is some sort of modem that you probably have to power cycle when switching devices (e.g., computer to router or a different computer).
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,933
And speaking of editing I guess I just imagined that you initially described being able to get internet access with a computer directly connected to the wall socket and getting different IPs when connecting the computer to the router. :(
 

divt154

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
223
I finally figured out what was wrong; that's why I edited my post.

And I don't know if there is anything on the other end.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
If you are not getting an IP address out of the Verizon ONT box, time to call for service. Have you looked at the status lights on the ONT? What do they indicate? Have you tried a connection of a computer directly to the Ethernet from the Verizon ONT bypassing the router?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top