1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dial up Hijacking.

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Fredfromoz, Sep 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Fredfromoz

    Fredfromoz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    When I was using a dial up modem, and not as wise as I am now, I was hijacked by a porn site and connected to a $5.00 a minute number.
    Now I am on broadband and only have a 3 digit dial up number, is it still possible for the same thing to happen? I.E. a hacker or any other site to override my connection?
    I don't think so, I hope not, but would like confirmation.
    Thanks in advance.
    Fredfromoz.
     
  2. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    To the best of my knowledge, NO. Especially if your broadband connection is cable and you have no phone line attached to your PC.
     
  3. putasolution

    putasolution

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,823
    Dialers can install themselves on your PC no matter what kind of Internet access you have (ADSL, ISDN or analog).

    If you also have an analog or ISDN modem connected to your computer in addition to an ADSL modem (e.g. internal fax modem or ISDN terminal adapter), you run the risk of connecting to the Internet using a premium rate number.

    If your computer only dials in to the Internet using ADSL, any dialer software that may have installed itself on your PC is not able to connect to premium rate numbers.

    However, you should ask your telephone service provider to block all attempts to dial a premium rate number anyway
     
  4. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    Well said, PAS (y)
     
  5. Fredfromoz

    Fredfromoz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    Nitehawk and PAS, thanks for your replies. I only have ADSL dial up and I regularly run SpyBot search and destroy, AdAware, plus BoClean and AVG anti-Virus, so I think I am pretty well covered.
    Thanks again guys.
    Fredfromoz.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166527

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice