Dial-Up - Modem Problem?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gwarson

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
6
Hi, Last night my power flashed because of snow when i was online and then when it came back on my computer wouldnt load windows properly so i had to load in safe-mode and then normal worked after a few tries and has since. But now i can only dial-up to the internet once every time i start my computer (i have to re-start my computer everytime i dial-up in order for it to work). So i used a diffrent provider and still had the same problem. When i went to dial-up again it would have some stupid error or keep switching access numbers...the modem dials...makes sound...clicks off...redials...repeats. Then i restart and it works again. I know its not my ISP and was wondering if anyone else had similar problems or could help me. It would be much appriciated and save alot of time and money :D

Sam Martin
Hanover VA

EDIT: oh ya and i have 2 modems...1 usb one internal ive tried both and there both doing same thing
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
42
Do you have any other items around the house using
the phone lines? Like a TiVo Box, FAX machine, or an answering
Machine?
You probably need to reset (power cycle) them as well.
It sounds like you took a power hit.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
42
If you anything else plugged into the same phone line, it
Could be causing your problem. Try unplugging it/them so
You have an isolated phone line and see if the problem goes away.

If it does, plug each one in, one at a time, and see if the problem
returns.

If you have tried two different “ known good” modems, and two
Different ISP’s, something else on the house phone line is causing
the problem.
 

gwarson

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
6
i just dont think it would let me connect at all if it was anyting like that...like im on the connection im having a problem with right now...just have to re-boot to re-connect to it
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
42
If you’re having a problem getting or maintaining a
good connection, It’s most likely due to noise (static)
on the line. Unless it’s coming from the phone company,
it’s got to be coming from something in your house.

If I was sure my house lines were good, I would uninstall
any/all Modems from my computer. Reboot it. And install
the Modem that was not installed during the snow when the
house lights were blinking.

When asked by Windows installer weather to use the
Existing Drivers, say “NO” , and have it reinstall new
Drivers from the Modem driver install disk.

That would give you a fresh driver install with a good
Modem.
 

gwarson

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
6
anyone else got any ideas...i think the problem is within my computer
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
317
because you can connect to isp, and if that
connection is at a decent speed, then it is
not a line quality issue.

because you can connect only once per
bootup on either modem means it is
a computer issue. and not one concerning
serial or usb if both modems behave similarly.
so it's not reinstall the modems but how
windows dials out.

go remove connections you have setup
and remake them with the connection
wizard.

also could try an operating system repair.
in windows you can remove a component
and readd it. control panel -> add remove programs
-> add remove components
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
42
Based on the initial description, it doesn’t sound like a clean connection.

"When i went to dial-up again it would have some stupid error or keep switching access numbers...the modem dials...makes sound...clicks off...redials...repeats."
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
42
If he removed all modems, rebooted, then added the
modem fresh, the Windows Communications components
would have been reinstalled for the new modem.
 

Viracocha711

Guest
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
191
...I would invest in a "good" UPS...Power surges and brownouts can screw a computer up in all sorts of ways. Just a thought.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
42
We still don’t know what connection speed Dial-up is getting.
It can’t be too great if the modem is “switching access numbers”
While trying to connect. The only reason a modem would switch
numbers during the connection process would be that it didn’t like
the speed achieved or quality on the line.

If we assume the modem isn’t fried, it still sounds like a line
quality issue.
 

gwarson

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
6
ok well im definatly gonna try all this when i get home (im at school taking a mid-term right now)

ya im positive its my hardware settings i dont think anythings cooked if it works at all

i think if i reset all the connections and crap and reinstall modems ...etc

i should be good...gotta make sure i have dirvers first.

if anyone can think of anything else ill be sure to try it as well IM DESPERATE lol

thanks guys
 

Viracocha711

Guest
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
191
Yes, I agree...If you know it is not the modem or an OS problem both of which could have been affected by a surge that did happen. However, a power surge can tweak things in very small ways and it can fry everything a UPS used correctly does help prevent little problems as well as big ones...This problem did show itself after a power incident? So...If it is a line quality issue then a UPS would not help and it was just an very odd fact that it revealed itself when it did.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top