1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dial-up Problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dfrancey, Feb 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dfrancey

    dfrancey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    I've been having problems with my dial-up connection lately. Once I connect I usually can't stay online for more than a minute, it keeps disconnecting. The phone line seems to be okay, I've switched it with another and have the same problem. What other things should I look for ? If I remember correctly it started not long after I did a few windows updates. Could an update have caused this and is there a way to uninstall the updates ? I am using windows xp and have aol as a provider. Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Do you have your email program, i.e., Outlook Express or similar, set to hang up after checking email?
     
  3. Roblobob

    Roblobob

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    AOL is a very poor ISP. I had loads of problems when I was with them. Search the internet for a better ISP.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    What is your connection speed?

    Also do you ever experience problems with your phones? ie. noise, low volume, etc.
    Wiring is at fault in a lot of connectin problems, and I don't necessarily mean the line that runs from the wall jack to the computer but the lines in the wall and leading to the house.

    As a test you may want to disconnect all phones and devices on the line in the house and try connecting. If you also have a jack in the main teleophone box outside/inside your house then connect to that and try dialing out.

    I personally have no nice words to describe AOL and their software.
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    You don't happen to have a US Robotics or 3COM modem do you?

    ALso have you checked for viruses/spyware?

    Do a quick scan at housecall.trendmicro.com to double check.
     
  6. microcacti

    microcacti

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    AOL is frankly a bad provider, chech ur modem drivers for rollback or update
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/325620

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice