Dial-Up screw-Up

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

RedRebel

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
78
Everytime I re-boot my dial-up window comes on screen and imediately start dialing my ISP. When I cancel it it sometimes comes rite back and redials. This is extremely annoying. Any Ideas on how to fix this mess?


:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
209
Go to Tools>Internet Options>Connections on the Internet Explorer tool bar and check where it says never dial connection. Also look in your dial-up box and see if auto connect is on. If so uncheck it.
 

RedRebel

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
78
It has stopped dialing my Isp. Now the dial-up window is displayed and when I cancel it , it comes rite back. If I click on the X in the upper left corner it comes rite back. This happens 3 to 4 times. It is VERY Annoying! When I check that never dial box it does just that, it never dials my ISP when I want it too, I have to un check the Box.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
209
Also you could try to uninstall the dialer then reinstall. Or use the connection wizard for Explorer. I assume you are using Internet Explorer
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Look in your startup folder or start button, run, then type msconfig and hit ok...go to the startup tab.....what are you running on start up there?
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
If none of that helps you then try running spybot/adaware. There are a few spyware programs that can cause this, especially if it just started to act this way out of the blue, but first check in your start up folder like Candy suggested and see if a program is trying to dial out. If something is in there that you don't recognize, then scan for spyware or post its name here.

Hope that helps.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top