Dialer.exe

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Have a user with this file in the c: directory........can I just delete it? I would guess it's some kind of dialer program that phones somewhere for something........thank God I've had his modem unplugged for months.........I'm assuming with a wireless connection it couldn't do too much by itself........... :confused:
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
They often have startup entries and/or are accompanied by ActiveX objects.

Did you have a look at his startups?

Also, SpyBot detects and removes a lot of dialers.
 

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
It doesn't appear to be running in the startups......I saw it as I hit the ESC key to see behind the splash screen......then I did a search for it, and found it in the c: directory, and also it appears in the windows directory with a different date.......grrrrrr......

I had adaware on his system.....but I guess that isn't the bestest and greatest anymore.......let me install spybot and see what I can find..........


Here's the msinfo32 software startups: (looks pretty clean to me)


McAfee.InstantUpdate.Monitor Registry (Per-User Run) "C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee Shared Components\Instant Updater\RuLaunch.exe" /startmonitor
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
InstallNAIProduct Registry (Machine Run) "E:\MIS\VSC\SETUP.EXE" /RUNKEY
VsecomrEXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\VirusScan\VSEcomR.EXE
Vshwin32EXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
VsStatEXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\VirusScan\VSSTAT.EXE /SHOWWARNING
McAfeeWebScanX Registry (Machine Run) C:\VIRUSSCAN\WebScanX.Exe
AlogServEXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\VirusScan\AlogServ.exe
AvconsoleEXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\VirusScan\avconsol.exe /minimize
Alogserv Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\alogserv.exe
McAfeeWebScanX Registry (Machine Service) C:\VIRUSSCAN\WebScanX.Exe /RUNSERVICES
McAfeeVirusScanService Registry (Machine Service) C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\AVSYNMGR.EXE
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Oops, didn't see that last one.

Yup, the startups look pretty clean. But that dialer has to be launched somehow to be active, you'd think.

Maybe post the Hijack This log anyway
 

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Originally posted by TonyKlein:
Oops, didn't see that last one.

Yup, the startups look pretty clean. But that dialer has to be launched somehow to be active, you'd think.

Maybe post the Hijack This log anyway
Gotta train them all to have startups like like, huh?

I'm not sure the dialer is even loading........but the fact that it is in the C: directory was my first concern, then seeing it again in the windows directory.......makes one wonder what's going on........
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Oops, wait a moment: MS has a totally legit file called dialer.exe. It's the Win NT Phone Dialer accessory, and I hope that's not what we're dealing with :eek:

Did you check the properties of the file?

Mine (XP) is is Program Files\Windows NT

Anyway, If it's in C:, it probably is malware, I should think.
 

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Actually, I did check one of them, and it gave no details......but he's running 98.......would that matter......and still, I've never seen it scroll by when windows is loading (prior to the desktop)..........

I'm doing a full scandisk on it now (which has nothing to do with this problem, it's been crying for one for awhile now, and I've been hitting cancel), and the hard drive is pretty full, it's only 6 gigs or so, and it's at 45% --- I'll take another look when it's finished.......


I did uninstall a couple of programs earlier to free up disk space....one was some type of net to phone kinda deal, I should know better and write this crap down....and another one was some kind of pc to phone communication program.........but still, I wouldn't think the c: directory is a good place for an .exe file......
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
In Win 98 I have Dialer.exe in C:\Windows, and it's the Windows telephone dialer.

If it's a legitimate file, you'd surely know by its properties.

Why not just rename it? That should do the trick.
 

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I didn't look at the properties for the one in Windows........just the c: directory.........will take a look when scandisk is done.......I think in any event, I'm going to delete the one in the c: directory :D :D

ok....maybe I'll rename it.......:p
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Yeah, maybe I'm making this look a lot more complicated than it really is.. :D
 

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I guess it could be worse, the last time this guy had a problem, the tech recommended format c:

aaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh :eek:

gotta wonder where those guys come from sometimes....... :confused:
 

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Ok, the one in Windows, is a Windows file.......the one in c: doesn't say, but if I execute it, I get a nice little Movie Icon (Movie Networks, wanna guess ;) ) on the desktop.........grrrrrrrr......it's out of here.......I can't imagine that it's being called from anywhere else........or has any other attached files.......what do you think Tony?
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Probably not, but you may want to check his Downloaded Program Files folder anyway.
 

~Candy~

Thread Starter
Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Ok, will do.........scandisk wasn't happy after it finished in dos mode.....it cried about running it thru windows....so it's running now......gonna call it a night and let scandisk run away....... ;)

Thanks for your excellent help as always........ :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top