Dialers keep coming back

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

chilcott

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
1
My problem is porn dialers that keep reappearing even though I have deleted them fom tool bar, start up and the recycle bin.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
1,592
Do you have spybot ?? If not get it Here after you install it, click "online" in the menu, then "search for updates". After you update, run "check for problems" in the Search and destroy menu.
Have spybot fix anything that comes up auto-checked in red.
leave the items in green that aren't checked for now, as they are not likely causing problems, let us know if that does the trick...Rhett

[tsg=welcome][/tsg]
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2002
Messages
193
after downloading spybot make sure you update it by clicking on the online button the search for updates and install them.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
27
Originally posted by chilcott:
My problem is porn dialers that keep reappearing even though I have deleted them fom tool bar, start up and the recycle bin.
If, after running Spybot and cleaning all items, you still find that porn dialers are appearing on your system, you may find your browser settings are to blame. I'm assuming you are using Internet Explorer?

In any case, the following program will help prevent the reinfection of your machine by spyware, dialers, etc.
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/spywareblaster.html

Download and install it, Check for Updates, and then Select All items in the list and press the "Protect" button. :)

Best regards,

-Javacool
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
9,396
theres nothing like blowing your own trumpet:D

seriously....its a great program chilcott...........helps stop the stuff from getting through;)
 

bassetman

Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
I DL'ed the new AdAware 6 the other day and it found 5 files that spybot was missing.:D I like them both, but I am thrilled to get a new adaware seeing I was having the same kind of problem as you chilcot.

John
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
1,592
AdAware 6 only found 2 entries spybot missed, both something to do with dataminer...good idea to have both...BTW I was suprised to see addaware had a ref update allready as it had just been released !!..:) Rhett
 

bassetman

Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
Yikes, I didn't try the update, 'cuz I figured it was current!:eek:

John
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Messages
101
I agree that using both is a good idea. There is nothing wrong with a double check. But be aware that AA seems to depend primarily on name recognition. Any items found by any bot killer should be checked out. Check the properties carefully.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top