1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dialog boxes not appearing at all

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by MetalGearKONG, Jan 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MetalGearKONG

    MetalGearKONG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    This is my first post in these forums and I think I have a unique problem.

    None of my dialog boxes are not showing up. Meaning when I go to "save as.." nothing comes up after I click on that. The little right click menu appears but when I select what I want, nothing else comes up. It's not behind any other windows or open programs or on the edge of the screen anywhere. I believe I did a defrag and I did a sweep with AVG anti-virus but nothing came up :eek:

    Anyone know how I might fix that and how it got that way in the first place?

    Thanks a ton,
    -MetalGearKONG
     
  2. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    M G KONG:
    Hello & Welcome to Tech Guy Forum.

    When did your computer last work well? When did the problem begin? Sometimes the exact date is important.

    What changed since your computer last worked well; hardware or software removal or installation; an update, to inclue W7; [ check your w7 update history ].

    Please provide your computer's system info. Use this forum's utility & post the results in this thread.
    http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Valuable_links

    Please boot to Last Known Good Config & report the results.
    If the problem persists, re boot, this time to safe mode.
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/666-advanced-boot-options.html?ltr=A

    RF123
     
  3. MetalGearKONG

    MetalGearKONG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Ok cool, yeah some context on my part would have helped. It's been a few days since it's not been working. And from what I can tell it's just the "save as.." option. All the other options are showing up. So I should correct myself. It's just "save as..."

    I think I had a virus that infected my computer but with some AVG and some restarts I think (think) I cleared it up. This seems to be the remaining damage from the fallout, if it's even related. Before the virus a few days ago, everything was working fine.

    I am not that tech savvy on a deeper level (compared to some people I'm a genius). My computer isn't a specific brand, it's something I bought the parts for and a room mate of mine put it together. As far as rebooting, you mean just restart it a couple of times? It doesn't sound like the kind of problem where I should have to wipe everything or anything like that.:confused:

    Thanks,
    -MetalGearKONG
     
  4. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    M G K:
    Thanks for the update.

    Please download & run the system info utility so we have a better idea of that with which we are working.

    RF123
     
  5. MetalGearKONG

    MetalGearKONG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I am actually not sure what that means exactly.
     
  6. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    We need specific information about your computer.

    RF123
     
  7. MetalGearKONG

    MetalGearKONG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I understand but I don't know what "download & run the system info utility" means. I will find out more specifics about it or figure out how to do that and get back to you soon.

    Thanks,
    MetalGearKONG
     
  8. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
  9. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Then, please post the results in a reply area of this thread.

    RF123
     
  10. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
  11. MetalGearKONG

    MetalGearKONG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 30 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8183 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 30430 MB, Free - 2420 MB; D: Total - 953866 MB, Free - 790692 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P7P55 LX
    Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2012, Updated and Enabled
     
  12. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    M:
    Thanks for posting the requested info on your system.

    Please read the links I posted, earlier, in #10 of this thread. Follow the steps.

    RF123
     
  13. MetalGearKONG

    MetalGearKONG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Actually there are more problems popping up. A few days ago in the start menu the whole "shut down" option has literally disappeared. Like, the only way to turn off or restart my computer is to push and hold the physical power button. Also, the little sound effect when you double click and open a folder or file is messed up. I think I just want to do a reinstall of Windows 7. I don't think following steps in #10 will solve all of those things. I'll store some essentials in my gmail account and in dropbox.com and do a wipe.
     
  14. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Might be your best option.
    Personally, but this is NOT MY computer, it would not be my 1st option.

    Your computer might have a malware issue. I am NOT a TechGuy.org approved malware removal specialist. But such specialists are available to you. http://forums.techguy.org/54-virus-other-malware-removal/
    Be sure to read the stickies.

    Keep us posted.

    RF123
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1087164

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice