Dialog boxes not appearing at all

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MetalGearKONG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
6
This is my first post in these forums and I think I have a unique problem.

None of my dialog boxes are not showing up. Meaning when I go to "save as.." nothing comes up after I click on that. The little right click menu appears but when I select what I want, nothing else comes up. It's not behind any other windows or open programs or on the edge of the screen anywhere. I believe I did a defrag and I did a sweep with AVG anti-virus but nothing came up :eek:

Anyone know how I might fix that and how it got that way in the first place?

Thanks a ton,
-MetalGearKONG
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
M G KONG:
Hello & Welcome to Tech Guy Forum.

When did your computer last work well? When did the problem begin? Sometimes the exact date is important.

What changed since your computer last worked well; hardware or software removal or installation; an update, to inclue W7; [ check your w7 update history ].

Please provide your computer's system info. Use this forum's utility & post the results in this thread.
http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Valuable_links

Please boot to Last Known Good Config & report the results.
If the problem persists, re boot, this time to safe mode.
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/666-advanced-boot-options.html?ltr=A

RF123
 

MetalGearKONG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
6
Ok cool, yeah some context on my part would have helped. It's been a few days since it's not been working. And from what I can tell it's just the "save as.." option. All the other options are showing up. So I should correct myself. It's just "save as..."

I think I had a virus that infected my computer but with some AVG and some restarts I think (think) I cleared it up. This seems to be the remaining damage from the fallout, if it's even related. Before the virus a few days ago, everything was working fine.

I am not that tech savvy on a deeper level (compared to some people I'm a genius). My computer isn't a specific brand, it's something I bought the parts for and a room mate of mine put it together. As far as rebooting, you mean just restart it a couple of times? It doesn't sound like the kind of problem where I should have to wipe everything or anything like that.:confused:

Thanks,
-MetalGearKONG
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
M G K:
Thanks for the update.

Please download & run the system info utility so we have a better idea of that with which we are working.

RF123
 

MetalGearKONG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
6
I understand but I don't know what "download & run the system info utility" means. I will find out more specifics about it or figure out how to do that and get back to you soon.

Thanks,
MetalGearKONG
 

MetalGearKONG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
6
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 30 Stepping 5
Processor Count: 8
RAM: 8183 Mb
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 30430 MB, Free - 2420 MB; D: Total - 953866 MB, Free - 790692 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P7P55 LX
Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2012, Updated and Enabled
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
M:
Thanks for posting the requested info on your system.

Please read the links I posted, earlier, in #10 of this thread. Follow the steps.

RF123
 

MetalGearKONG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
6
Actually there are more problems popping up. A few days ago in the start menu the whole "shut down" option has literally disappeared. Like, the only way to turn off or restart my computer is to push and hold the physical power button. Also, the little sound effect when you double click and open a folder or file is messed up. I think I just want to do a reinstall of Windows 7. I don't think following steps in #10 will solve all of those things. I'll store some essentials in my gmail account and in dropbox.com and do a wipe.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
When did your computer last work well? When did the problem begin? Sometimes the exact date is important.

What changed since your computer last worked well; hardware or software removal or installation; an update, to inclue W7; [ check your w7 update history ].
Actually there are more problems popping up. A few days ago in the start menu the whole "shut down" option has literally disappeared. Like, the only way to turn off or restart my computer is to push and hold the physical power button. Also, the little sound effect when you double click and open a folder or file is messed up. I think I just want to do a reinstall of Windows 7. I don't think following steps in #10 will solve all of those things. I'll store some essentials in my gmail account and in dropbox.com and do a wipe
Might be your best option.
Personally, but this is NOT MY computer, it would not be my 1st option.

Your computer might have a malware issue. I am NOT a TechGuy.org approved malware removal specialist. But such specialists are available to you. http://forums.techguy.org/54-virus-other-malware-removal/
Be sure to read the stickies.

Keep us posted.

RF123
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top