Dialup screen on each boot

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

moonifa

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
149
Can someone please tell me how to prevent the Dial Up Connect screen from popping up on my desktop each time I cold boot or restart?
I have gone round and round with this and I am stumped. Thanks for any help. Moonifa :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2001
Messages
968
Hi moonifa,

Go into the Control Panel / Internet Options / Connections and check the box that says, "Never Dial a connection".

Good luck.

Spaceman
 

telecom69

Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
9,807
Hi moonifa,could I just ask is this happening because you have gone from dial up connection to broadband?
 

moonifa

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
149
Thanks guys for your interest in helping. Actually about 10 minutes after I posted this thread, I found someone else who posted the exact same problem. She solved it herself by discovering it was the latest version of ZoneAlarm that was causing it.
I uninstalled ZoneAlarm and that was sure enough the problem. I do not plan on going to an older version as I use dial up, and probably don't need it. Thanks again! Moonifa
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2001
Messages
616
Don't give up ZoneAlarm yet. It is true that since your on a dial-up connection, your chances of being hacked is remote. However ZoneAlarm is very good at letting you know what programs on your machine is trying to call home when your connected to the internet.
There are alot of nasty viruses and trojans out there that you can get that wait around on your machine untill your connected to the internet and then send out your personal information back to their maker.

Bottom line: ZoneAlarm, or a program like it, is the one program most teck people say you should have along with a good anti-virus program.

There's more than one way to be hacked.

John.
 

moonifa

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
149
Thanks for all the input and advice. I will re-download Zone Alarm and reset my options to never dial.
I appreciate everyone's input. Maybe I can help in return someday. :D Moonifa
 

moonifa

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
149
Can I impose another quick question? I set it to "never dial a connection," and when I went to log on it would not bring up the dial up screen. So will I have to manually change the setting each time I need to log on? Or am I missing something here?
Thank you for your time! Moonifa
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
I cheat and have a shortcut to my dialup connection on my desktop, and click that to start the dialup process, before opening Outlook or Internet Explorer.

If you go to Double-click the My Computer icon on your desktop to open it and then double0click the Dial-Up Networking folder, you will see your Dial-up connection(s). Right-click the one you use most often and select Create Shortcut. You should get a pop-up window saying that Windows cannot create a shortcut here. Do you want the shortcut to be placed on the desktop instead?

Just click Yes.

Now, whenever you want to start your dial-up to access mails or internet, double-click the shortcut first, and a dial-up box that looks different from the one you are used to will appear. Just click the Connect button to start it dialing.
 

moonifa

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
149
Thanks Randy! I have the shortcut on my desktop now. I appreciate the wisdom! :)
Now I am going to check out your link to spyware. I hope to "see" you around. Good Luck in all you do. Moonifa
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Messages
8,994
This is an unfortunate side effect of their latest ver.
Ive gone back to ver 2.6
It took a while to find what it was,
cos i didnt suspect ZA at all.

They have said they will issue a fix,
or another version, but nothing yet.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top