1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Different Dial up Speeds? uneducated questions !!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by nutnhuny, Apr 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nutnhuny

    nutnhuny Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    i've recently relocated to a remote area where only dial up is available...

    i have two laptops that show two different speeds...one is consistent between 41-44 Kbps and this is my older Dell
    My newer one..you would think would be a little faster...nope that one is always between 31-32Kbps,,,what does that depend on..? and why is it called 56k ..if it never reaches 56?...!!
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    56k is the theoretical top speed of a dial up connection.
    The best one can attain in ideal circumstances is in the range of 52-53k
    Your differences could be due to a number of different variables.
    Different modems/capabilities
    Different operating systems consuming differing amounts of ram/storage.
    Different amounts of ram installed.
    Different workloads or programs running, consuming a different % of available resources
    Have you tried swapping the phone jacks.Plug the fast pc into the slower pc's phone jack.Same result.
    Try a different phone cable on the slow pc.Any change.
    Display the modems in device manager.Check the port speed.Are they the same ?
    In modems,check the advanced tab.Any init strings there ?
    Just too many things could be at play here.
     
  3. nutnhuny

    nutnhuny Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    wow...had no idea..thanks for that info...

    tried the swapping..no difference...
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,904
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest driver for the modem in your newer machine. Look first on the PC manufacturer's web site.

    Have you checked for actual difference using a test such as speedtest.net or Speakeasy?
     
  5. nutnhuny

    nutnhuny Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    wow..no i didnt know i could do that! ever cool!!! not the results though!!! thanks a bunch
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Many times, the differences are simply the quality of the modems in question. Newer doesn't always mean better. :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916220

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice