1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Different frequency RAM modules

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by letmedanz, Feb 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. letmedanz

    letmedanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Hi all,

    i recently had a huge problem on Win7 with consistent pop ups of the 'blue screen of death'
    (didn't MS say win 7 will not have this issue??)
    anyhow i automatically assumed it was a problem with the ram & purchased a new Transcend 800mhz 2GB DDR2 module.
    Previously i had TWO modules of 1GB 667mhz DDR2 ram.

    Obvious, it turned out that the problem was not with the ram as i continued having the blue screen even after ram replacement.
    The Motherboard i have is the XFX nforce 650i which supports both frequencies.

    so is it ok to use these 3 modules of ram?
     
  2. Simba7

    Simba7

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    It might be trying to clock the 667MHz sticks to 800MHz, which could be causing your BSODs.

    Try it with just the 800MHz stick.
     
  3. letmedanz

    letmedanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Sorry if my statement was misleading.
    i was using 2gb (2 modules of 1 gb each) of 667Mhz.
    I started having the BSODs.
    After which i bought the new 2GB (single module) of 800Mhz

    Now can i use all 3 (2 modules of 1 gb ddr2 667 mhz & 1 module of ddr2 800mhz) at the same time.

    And yes, i am still getting the BSODs even with the new single 800mhz module as well.
    so it is either a windows problem or something else
     
  4. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    the 800 will run at the lower speed providing both sets of ram are rated at the same voltage

    you would have been better off buying a matched set of the 800,providing the m/board supports 800mh
     
  5. letmedanz

    letmedanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    well, i got the new 800 assuming the 667 were frie.
    but apparently they are not.
    so is there anything i need to check before i insert all 3 modules into the MB?
    i've read that incompatible ram modules can fry the MB
    it does support 800 as well as 667 mhz..
    to re-iterate these are the modules i have:
    2 modules of 1GB (667)

    1 module of 2 GB (800mhz)
     
  6. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    frying because they are incompatible means trying to insert the wrong ddr into the slot

    there is ddr,ddr2 ddr3 types of ram

    different rated speeds means all will run at the lower speed but they all need to be rated at the same voltage or they will cause bsod to occur
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090349

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice