1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

different speed of memory slow down system?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by breathe, Apr 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. breathe

    breathe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    hi all,

    i have a computer running windows xp sp1. it has p4 1.7 cpu and 1g ddr sdram memory.
    recently i noticed that the computer was very slow in opening up programs or some other simple operations. i have norton anti virus running all the time, so it should not be virus. i also scanned the system using adaware and everything seemed ok.

    so i am just wondering if it could be the memory, as i am using two memory with different speed, one 512 at 2100, and the other at 2700. could that be the reason? any help is appreciated.
     
  2. Endemix

    Endemix

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Using memory at different speeds may affect permormance. Another good rule of thumb is to run the same sizes in both slots. You may wanna run a disk cleaner and deframent your drive as well.
     
  3. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    When you have memory at different speeds, you will get the lower speed, in this case the 2100. Check in Task Manager to see if anything is running in the background. If you haven't defragged your hard drive in a while try that also. If no improvement download HijackThis, http://majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=3155and post a log for someone to review.
     
  4. breathe

    breathe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    thanks Endemix and norton850...

    i did the disk clean and deframentation and things seem to be getting better...except for one thing: i cannot deframent one drive. the error message is,

    "Disk Defragmenter has detected that Chkdsk is scheduled to run on the volume: xxx(x:). Please run Chkdsk /f."

    then i ran Chkdsk /f and it said

    "Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. Would you like to schedule this volume to be checked the next time the system restarts? (Y/N)"

    i selected yes and restarted the system. it did check that volumn. then i went back to defragmenter, trying to defragment that volumn, but still got the same message.

    i checked scheduler and nothing was there.

    anyone has any ideas how to solve it? thanks in advance
     
  5. Endemix

    Endemix

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Maybe you have some kind of physical disk corruption problem. The
    dirty bit has been set by chkdsk itself. The dirty bit will not be reset
    until the problem is repaired.


    [[The file system structure on the volume listed in the message might be
    corrupt because of one or more of the following reasons:


    • The disk might have bad sectors.
    • I/O requests issued by the file system to the disk subsystem might not
    have been completed successfully.


    User Action
    Check the state of the file system and repair it if necessary.


    To check the state of the file system
    1. Click Start, click Run, and then, in the Open box, type
    cmd
    2. To determine whether the volume is corrupt, at the command prompt, type
    chkntfs C:


    • If the message “Drive_letter: is dirty” is displayed, the volume is
    corrupt. In this case, repair the file system.
    • If the message “Drive_letter: is not dirty” is displayed, the volume is
    not corrupt and no further action is required.


    To repair the file system
    1. Save any unsaved data and close any open programs.
    2. Restart the computer.
    The volume is automatically checked and repaired when you restart the
    computer.


    Alternatively, you can run the Chkdsk tool from the command prompt without
    shutting down the computer first.


    1. Click Start, click Run, and then type
    cmd
    2. At the command prompt, type
    chkdsk /X C:
    Chkdsk runs and automatically repairs the volume.


    If the following message appears, type Y.


    “Cannot lock current drive. Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use
    by another process. Would you like to schedule this volume to be checked the
    next time the system restarts?”


    The next time the computer is started, Chkdsk will automatically run.


    If the NTFS 55 message appears regularly, for example daily or weekly, run
    Chkdsk using the /R command-line option. This option allows Chkdsk to locate
    bad sectors on the hard disk
     
  6. breathe

    breathe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Endemix, and you are right it's dirty.

    however, i ran chkdsk /x d: and got this message

    Chkdsk cannot dismount the volume because it is a system driver or there is an active paging file on it. Would you like to schedule this volume to be checked the next time the system restarts?

    so i selected yes and restarted the system. the computer checked the volumn d again, but i still got the dirty message and same message when i ran chkntfs and chkdsk /x

    seems like cannot fix it with these commands. any other ways to solve it ? thanks again

    EDIT: i also tried chkdsk /R and got the following message

    Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. Chkdsk may run if this volume is dismounted first. ALL OPENED HANDLES TO THIS VOLUME WOULD THEN BE INVALID. Would you like to force a dismount on this volume?

    i didnt go ahead to say yes coz i was afraid to lose all datas on that driver
     
  7. Endemix

    Endemix

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Hmmm...

    Maybe, but it's late and I need to go to bed so hopefully someone will reply or I can try and think of something.

    Search around google and see what you find.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/455335

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice