1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Difficulty connecting to preferred wireless network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by o7o, Jan 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. o7o

    o7o Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    The automatic connection to the preferred network (with a strong signal) does not occur immediately. When I choose it in the list of preferred networks and click on 'connect' (with the password present of course), a message appears stating that the computer is connecting to the network. However, after some time nothing happens and the message terminates. There is no other information given (e.g. 'the computer failed to connect...").

    After up to 15 mins or so, the network connects automatically (not sure if this has anything to do with turning the router off and on, restarting the computer, turning the wireless adaptor off and on....)

    Any idea how I can ensure an immediate automatic connection when I turn the machine on?

    Thaniks.
     
  2. onca

    onca

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    I'm assuming you're using windows 7? Although I guess it doesn't really matter. How many saved networks do you have?

    If more than one, then go to each of your saved wireless network properties and verify that your computer isn't switching between the preferred networks by clearing the "Connect to a more preferred network if available" check box, which could be the explanation of your temporary connection loss.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,246
    First Name:
    Terry
    I'm assuming that you have XP (as in your Computer Specs). If so, what wireless utility are you using? Are you sure no other one is running?
     
  4. o7o

    o7o Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks very much for your advice. It's been a bit better, but it still seems quite random about connecting... I am indeed running xp. and there is only 1 available network that can be connected to (my ISP). Nonetheless, deleting some of the previous preferred networks couldn't hurt.

    What appears to possibly make a difference is if I shut the router off and turn it on again... this way it will at least inconsistently, connect automatically (but I'm not sure if this is just a coincidence).

    Finally, there is only one wireless device on this laptop.

    thanks again.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    post back an xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/977216

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice